Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
A few additions to make recipe extremely flavorful: Started by sautéing 1 small onion before adding garlic. Added spices: dried oregano, cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes (only a pinch), salt and pepper. I also heated chicken broth in pan before returning red pepper blend. Took advice of previous review and used slim milk and flour instead of cream as we were trying to make healthier. Added salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese to taste at end. It was so flavorful and a thick, rich cream sauce. We poured over baked chicken and sautéed mushrooms and saved extra for tomorrow's dinner. Delicious! We licked our plates clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Great sauce! the only thing I did differently, was that I only used 1/2 the amount of half and half because I was afraid that it would make the sauce too thin. What great flavors! I served it over fresh green Linguini and steamed asparagus. This one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I had a bag of mini peppers that I wanted to use up so I roasted them and made this sauce. The pepper part was a lot of work (slippery little things were challenging to peel) but the flavor was AWESOME! I grilled some chicken breast and garlic & mozzarella chicken sausage and tossed it all into lb of linguini. Served with garlic foccacia bread sticks. Family was super impressed and even our picky 12 yr old loved it & had seconds. Thanks for a great sauce idea. I tend to cook to taste so I did add more basil, garlic & pepper towards the end. Delish!!! Will definitely make again - with full size peppers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Bistany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is such a great sauce! I serve it with chicken (whole grilled breasts or bite-size strips) or shrimp, and both are equally delicious. I must admit that, as written, I find it a wee bit sweet, so I add some diced store-bought tomatoes to the skillet, which adds a nice bit of acidity. Some diced red onion is good, and I usually substitute a splash of heavy cream for the half as well. Good stuff! Thanks, BOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe because my husband is newly allergic to tomatoes. We both loved it! Roasting the peppers was easy but definitely time consuming. It does make a ton, though. We used left overs as a pizza sauce a few days later ( delicious by the way ), and we still had more to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My wife and I loved this sauce. We let the peppers cool for less than 10 minutes due to time constraints and they came out great. We topped it over linguini but mixed in dreamed clams, mussels and shrimp with sauteed onions. What a great feast with Italian bread. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Schujko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Cooked according to recipe except added Italian Sausage(spicy). It had a wonderful taste and the consistency of the sauce was perfect. Not to runny or to thick. This was an easy dish to prepare and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This turned out great! A real hit with my family. I roasted the red peppers on the stove top instead of in the broiler and, once they were off the heat, I cut into them immediately. I also used heavy cream and forwent the butter. Definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celina Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I also used jarred red peppers but will roast my own next time. Not a big deal. Gets better the next day and with a little added tomato sauce, even better. I added a pinch of chili pepper flakes to give it some zing and found it delicious on ravioli for a meat free night and also on pasta. Good addition to my New York Italian cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious, my son said this was the best thing I have ever made. I made it twice in one week. We used sautéed chicken and whatever noodles we had on hand. I am not a cook at all so the difficulty level for me was about a 7. Now that I know you can get roasted red peppers in a jar I am sure this will help tremendously with time and difficulty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Click

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States