Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Those who rated this recipe "bland" must not have functioning taste buds!! This was excellent and the only thing I did different was to use one reviewers recommendation to add some red pepper flakes and grilled chicken strips. Will definitely be making this again and again! Thanks for submitting this awesome recipe Bob Bailey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought about using jarred red peppers, but decided it was about time I learned how to roast them myself. It was fairly easy, but the recipe doesn't mention that you need to turn them once the top begins to blacken. For me, that started about 5 minutes into the process and took me about 25 minutes. This will vary greatly depending on the size of your pepper. As an alternative to putting them in a plastic bag, you can also put them in bowl sealed with plastic wrap. In case you're wondering, the purpose of this step is to loosen the skin. In the end, this was good, but not any better than tomato-basil cream sauces that I make (and it took much longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great recipe! A family's favorite. My son always request for this recipe. My husband doesn't like Alfredo sauce like me and the kids so I wanted to find a pasta sauce that we can all enjoy. We all love it so much that I make this recipe every time we want pasta. Very tasty like restaurant quality. I also use the red peppers jar and half and half and I cut down on the basil a bit and use 3t salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
For the sake of time I used jarred peppers. I had cream so I used it. I added a few shakes of cayenne and allspice. Yum, yum! For the rest of the dish I sautéed onions, mushrooms, threw in some sliced grilled chicken, added a few handfuls of baby spinach. After the spinach wilted I added cooked penne and then the sauce to that. Topped with some more Romano/parm. Tasted like our favorite restaurant's meal. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I used it with cooked lentils and chickpeas, and it was fabulous. Ten people agreed. Substituting half-and-half with regular milk and the Romano cheese with mozzarella works great! In addition, don't feel shy with the cheese. I also added cumin and hot curry powder. Fantastic! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Love LOVE this! Easy to make and ever so delicious! Huge hit with the family. Served over chicken-stuffed ravioli. Creamy, flavorful sauce, with all the right nuances of savory and spiciness. So glad to have found this recipe. Will be a regular addition to our menu. :o) Also made it with jarred marinated roasted red peppers (due to time constraints) and it was fast, easy, perfect. Divoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Really like this it goes on any type of pasta. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This was wonderful.. I didn't have peppers so I used a can of drained diced tomatoes instead.. and I added some grilled chicken.. this was wonderful, everyone loved it.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
First tasted this in a great restaurant. Thought I'd try it at home. Superb!!!! Had it wit big ricotta spinach stuffed ravioli. Not the lightest of meals, but for a pasta night .. Just beautiful. Can't wait to make for a gathering.. It's beautiful and delicious !! Served this with a cabbage slaw/arugula salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I LOVE this and everyone that I have made it for either wants me to make it again or give them the recipe. Like others, I play with my food and used milk (2%) and cornstarch for thickener and a little more cheese (so much for saved calories), the last time it was a 4 cheese pasta blend. I also have added mushrooms which I love with the red peppers. When red peppers were on sale I roasted a bunch under the broiler and froze them and they were just as wonderful. Thanks for my favorite past sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States