Roasted Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This recipe was delicious, easy and quick to make but just needed a little help. First I pounded the chicken breasts out to thin them out a little. Then I mixed some feta cheese in with the peppers and stuffed the chicken. I added a little salt & pepper to the bread crumbs. Definately use olive oil instead of veg. oil and with the chicken thinned out you only need to cook it about 7 min. on each side. As for the sauce, I added a little salt & pepper, a dash of garlic powder and parmesan chs and simmered it for a couple of minutes and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Nice presentation even though a little hard to keep together at first. I did not dare "shake" in breadcrumbs,(would of fell apart) I just carefully "rolled" the chicken in them. I only used half of the crumbs called for. I had to use two toothpicks for each breast and then after browning they stayed together nicely. I choose to bake after browning(I poured sauce over all, covered and baked for about 20 minutes) I did add some feta crumbles, fresh minced garlic and a couple fresh spinach leaves to the chicken "pocket" along with the roasted peppers. Due to reviews, I also added ground cayenne pepper and chili powder to the sour cream mixture. Loved the flavors of the roasted red pepper, the sour cream sauce with the Feta (more than the chicken!) I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
After reading all the reviews and seeing some had trouble with the recipe, I decided to take a different approach. 1. I used partially thawed chicken breasts - this was much easier to handle and to slice. I sliced lengthwise and placed a small amount of the feta cheese inside, then red peppers. I then placed in the fridge for 1/2 hour to defrost entirely. 2. I used buttermilk to coat the chicken (while held together with toothpicks). 3. I used panko bread crumbs seasoned with dried parsley, oregano and garlic powder. 4. I browned slightly in pan in olive oil. Removed toothpicks. 5. I felt I had to bake in the oven because the chicken pieces were quite large. 350 degrees for 30 - 40 mins. Unfortunately I didn't have any roasted red peppers left to make the sauce. I used 1/8 cup of mild salsa with the sour cream. This was very good! I will definately serve this to visiting guests for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This recipe was ok, however I disagree that it is "full of flavour". The red peppers give it nice, but very SUBTLE flavour. (It needs more seasonings!) Perhaps adding something to both the filling and the bread crumb coating would help (Maybe even the sauce?). Cooking it in vegetable oil on the stove isn't a great idea (I used olive oil). The coating got too brown- I suggest baking it in the oven. Also, the cooking times given were too long. If I had cooked the chicken for 5 min, then 10 min, then another 5 on med-high heat, it would have been severely overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This chicken was ok, it wasn't half as hard to put together as I thought it would be. I slit the chicken and stuffed it with roasted peppers and secured it with two toothpicks.Then I salt and peppered the chicken and coated with breading and fried in a small amt of oil. When I made the sauce I used reduced fat Feta and reduced fat Sour cream. I added a little garlic powder and a dash of cayenne pepper to it too, so that jazzed it up a bit. Then I baked it in the oven for 20 minutes or so at 350 with the sauce on it. (otherwise it never would have been fully cooked)It made a nice presentation but the chicken was kind of bland unless you had it dripping in sauce and there wasn't enough sauce to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This dish turned out beautifully for me without any modifications. The flavor was well-balanced and not overpowering, and the dish looked gorgeous when plated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
The idea was great but I did make some changes. I added feta and spinach to the stuffing, as suggested, also added a garlic clove to the pureed sour cream/red pepper mixture, salt/pepper the chicken, breaded it, then put the chicken into a baking dish, covered it with the sauce and baked it. Delicious. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I absolutely loved this recipe, although I made some changes. My husband is not a fan of red bell peppers, so I substituted sun-dried tomatoes instead, and it came out perfectly! Also, I added a clove of garlic to the sour cream mixture and that added a little kick to it! Finally, I used goat cheese instead of feta and it was just terrific! I'll definitely be making this one again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I loved this but had to give it 4 because I changed the procedure quite a bit. I stuffed the chicken with the red peppers, and garlic and feta. I then brushed it with sour cream so the breadcrumbs would stick. I then baked it. I made the sauce as is but I heated it up so the texture was thinner which was better in my opinion. So delicious - even the picky veggie hating bf ate it. :) Thanks for a great base recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Full of flavor. Next time, I may bake the chicken in the sour cream sauce to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States