Roasted Red Pepper Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I added gorgonzola cheese to the sour cream & peppers in the food processor to make a rich, thick, flavorful, bright-orange sauce. After browning the chicken, I covered it and cooked the extra 10 minutes. The chicken was so moist. Try that vs baking. I'll make it again - and I'll add a clove of crushed garlic to the sour cream sauce & some cayenne pepper (I didn't read the reviews before cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This makes a great presentation, and its taste isn't just generic. I substituted Bleu Cheese for the Feta cheese, I used the bleu cheese in both the stuffing with the red peppers and the sauce. I also garnished it with freshly chopped cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good and pretty with the red peppers inside the chicken. I lightly pan fried then baked to finish cooking. No need for toothpicks as long as you are careful the first time you flip them in the pan. After that they stayed together nicely. Will make again, but may add a few more spices to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I'm giving it a 5 star rating based on my adaptation of this recipe. I chopped up roasted red peppers, and mixed in some sundried tomatoes, shaved Parmesan, oregano, basil and minced garlic. Then I secured them with toothpicks (I really loaded in the stuffing!) Then I seasoned panko bread crumbs with sea salt, pepper, and a little more garlic. (Use whatever you like) I then browned the chicken in olive oil, til nicely browned. A did up an appropriate amount of basmati rice, and just before it was done cooking, I put it in a casserole dish with the chicken breasts on top. I then topped it all with the sour cream mix, which I seasoned up. Baked it for @ 20mins. in a 350 oven. Check and add chicken broth if the rice starts to look dry. You can really do any variation with this dish. Next time I'll do an Aegean chicken with feta, Greek olives, oregano, etc. Adjust the seasonings to suit your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a beautiful and simple dish. I think the presentation should be exactly as written. Adding more to the filling and more to the sauce as others have suggested is a gread idea, and up to personal taste. I also agree with browning the chicken and then finishing it in the oven so the chicken stays moist. Excellent recipe, with plenty of room to tweak! Gives me great ideas! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe because it is quick, yummy and healthy! I did bake the chicken in the oven and it turned out great. I even put a little of the sour cream mixture in the inside of the chicken. i have made this recipe several times and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylviabg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have made this several times, the roasted red peppers keep the chicken so moist. Instead of coating in breadcrumbs and frying, I grill the stuffed chicken. This cuts the fat and gives it GREAT flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is a very pretty dish. We enjoyed it, but the recipe won't make it into my regular rotation. It was a little boring, despite the ingredients list. But if you want a nice dish with mild flavor and good presentation...this is one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe---but. I don't like sour cream so I left the sauce out completely. I used bread crumbs made from brown bread so they were quite crumbly. Dip and pat the crumbs instead of shaking. Worked out great. Many raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
After reading all the reviews and seeing some had trouble with the recipe, I decided to take a different approach. 1. I used partially thawed chicken breasts - this was much easier to handle and to slice. I sliced lengthwise and placed a small amount of the feta cheese inside, then red peppers. I then placed in the fridge for 1/2 hour to defrost entirely. 2. I used buttermilk to coat the chicken (while held together with toothpicks). 3. I used panko bread crumbs seasoned with dried parsley, oregano and garlic powder. 4. I browned slightly in pan in olive oil. Removed toothpicks. 5. I felt I had to bake in the oven because the chicken pieces were quite large. 350 degrees for 30 - 40 mins. Unfortunately I didn't have any roasted red peppers left to make the sauce. I used 1/8 cup of mild salsa with the sour cream. This was very good! I will definately serve this to visiting guests for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Breasts

A crunchy chop salad gives roasted chicken contrasts of taste, color, & texture.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States