Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This has quickly become a favorite in my house. It's an absolutely wonderful soup - tasty AND healthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This soup is so delicious. I highly recommend it for family and especially company. To cut down on the time, instead of roasting the red bell peppers myself I used roasted red bell peppers from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This serves six only if you want a little cup of soup. If you want a big bowl, you need to double the recipe to serve six. I cut back on the garlic a bit, used Great Northern beans, and garnished with chopped cooked bacon. Great texture, great flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Excellent taste. I recommend adding chicken breast chunks. Roasting the peppers is the hardest part. I think there are more like 6 servings instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I loved this soup. The only thing I did different was to add 2 drops of Tabasco to give it some zing. I used feta on top and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This bisque was very good. I dont really like peppers, but this is a subtle flavour. I couldnt find the beans required, so i used white kidney beans. I only used a 4th of what was asked for...and still i think the bean flavour was a little overpowering. A very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Amazing! One of my new favorites. I use a jar of roasted red peppers sometimes for speed instead of roasting them myself. I'll also add a few fresh basil leaves at the end of the pureeing process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I used a 12 oz. jar of drained sweet roasted red peppers. The soup looked like an elegant soup you'd have at a restaurant. It was surprising & a nice change to have a creamed soup that was thickened with beans instead of cream. I tried some with a dollop of sour cream on top and some with some with goat cheese (I'd gotten some in a gift basket) on top, as suggested in the recipe, & preferred it without the additions. It does need some salt & pepper while cooking or at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I have been having great fun with this recipe and my family (including 2 year old triplets) doesn't mind at all - they love it! The first time I made it I used a 16oz can of roasted peppers. I added some things I had in the house like a half empty bag of three cheese tortellini and a bunch of fresh asparagus spears (it looked very pretty). The second time I roasted my own peppers and it was really good but everyone commented that the difference between the fresh and the canned was so subtle I can get away with not soing the extra work. This time I only added fresh mini ravioli. My sisters commented that it didn't really need any additions and I agree. I am making it tonight for a church dinner and I will leave it plain, but I will bring along some crumbled Feta - that sounds so good! Thanks for a healthy, delicious and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This soup is very unique. I added a few basil leaves to the last batch in the blender and it tasted great. I also didn't fully puree all of the soup to give it some texture. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States