Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Delicious! I read that some people had a problem with bladness and tossed it. Mine came out wondefully flavourful and thick, and I think the trick is in the proportions. I followed the recipe up to the point when you add the chopped peppers to the onions. Here I added one can of beans in tomato sauce (canned baked beans, basically) and decided that it was beany enough. I threw in 1 and half stock cubes (1 veg, half chicken) because at this stage I thought I'd add all the liquid suggested. But after pouring in a pint of water (volume of one of the cans suggested), it looked thin enough. Blended it, tasted it, added a bit of dried parsley and cumin. Done, wonderful. So, in sum, half the beans, half the broth, a bit of extra flavouring of your choice. A lovely soup really, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Delicious and easy!!! I like adding crushed red pepper for a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was delicious! I love the beany taste an the pepper gives it a different flavor. I also added a few more herbs to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
looove this recipe! i use roasted red peppers from a jar to save time, and prefer less beans than the recipe calls for. i like to garnish with a little fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I also found this soup to be bland so I added a tablespoon of Cumin. It really made a difference and the soup is quite tasty now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was ok. I roasted and skinned the peppers, used only 1 can of beans. Strained it well (we like cream soups with no chuncks), added 2 tbs heavy cream and one 5 oz can of fat free evaporated milk to cut back on fat/calories. Not sure if I will make it again, but still glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I thought this soup was very easy to make (which is a big plus for me!) but not spicy enough. I added some cayenne and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Just OK, added some smoked turkey sausage, a can of evaporated milk to make it more creamy, and some cayenne pepper - still wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Pieces did not fully liquify for soup leaving chunks that were not enjoyable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
ok. i should have read the reviews first. i made the soup (navy beans instead of cannellini beans, vegetable broth instead of chicken broth) - and i hate it. it's bland and the texture is horrible! so far, to try to remedy the soup i've added more garlic, tomato sauce, a tomato, celery, basil, and a half of a yellow pepper. Now I've got a very garlicy, kind of tomato-y soup that still has a horrible texture. Not a big fan of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States