Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Delicious! I read that some people had a problem with bladness and tossed it. Mine came out wondefully flavourful and thick, and I think the trick is in the proportions. I followed the recipe up to the point when you add the chopped peppers to the onions. Here I added one can of beans in tomato sauce (canned baked beans, basically) and decided that it was beany enough. I threw in 1 and half stock cubes (1 veg, half chicken) because at this stage I thought I'd add all the liquid suggested. But after pouring in a pint of water (volume of one of the cans suggested), it looked thin enough. Blended it, tasted it, added a bit of dried parsley and cumin. Done, wonderful. So, in sum, half the beans, half the broth, a bit of extra flavouring of your choice. A lovely soup really, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Delicious and easy!!! I like adding crushed red pepper for a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was delicious! I love the beany taste an the pepper gives it a different flavor. I also added a few more herbs to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
looove this recipe! i use roasted red peppers from a jar to save time, and prefer less beans than the recipe calls for. i like to garnish with a little fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I also found this soup to be bland so I added a tablespoon of Cumin. It really made a difference and the soup is quite tasty now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was ok. I roasted and skinned the peppers, used only 1 can of beans. Strained it well (we like cream soups with no chuncks), added 2 tbs heavy cream and one 5 oz can of fat free evaporated milk to cut back on fat/calories. Not sure if I will make it again, but still glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I thought this soup was very easy to make (which is a big plus for me!) but not spicy enough. I added some cayenne and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Just OK, added some smoked turkey sausage, a can of evaporated milk to make it more creamy, and some cayenne pepper - still wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Pieces did not fully liquify for soup leaving chunks that were not enjoyable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
ok. i should have read the reviews first. i made the soup (navy beans instead of cannellini beans, vegetable broth instead of chicken broth) - and i hate it. it's bland and the texture is horrible! so far, to try to remedy the soup i've added more garlic, tomato sauce, a tomato, celery, basil, and a half of a yellow pepper. Now I've got a very garlicy, kind of tomato-y soup that still has a horrible texture. Not a big fan of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States