Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I didn't love this soup, but I think it has more to do with the fact that I realized I don't care for roasted red peppers. It was quite bland, also. I added some oregano(1/2 tsp.) to it, and then crumbled feta cheese and fresh ground black pepper to my bowl. It was quite good with those additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Pretty good. I added more red bell pepper and fewer beans like others had suggested. I also added some potatoes to thicken it a bit. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Had a small family get together at our house and made this for a first course to our dinner. Everyone loved it. First time I've ever made this recipe and it turned out fabulous! I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper...absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! A very rustic, heavy soup. I would add more garlic, basil, and cayenne pepper to taste. Drizzle olive oil as garnish. Serve with crusty bread. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
eh...this soup is good, not great. I think it should be named "Bean and Red Pepper Soup". The flavor of the Red Pepper is not very predominant. If I make it again I'll double the amount of Red Bell's. I added some fresh Basil, that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a big watery, flavorless mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was delicious and so healthy. I topped it with fat free Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very good recipe, I was very happy with the results. I did take suggestions from other reviews (half and seed the peppers before roasting and double the garlic), but I also sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil and 2 tbsp butter, then I also used 4 cups chicken broth which was a little more than the recipe called for. I added 3 fresh sage leaves torn up as well, simmered everything for about 10 minutes then added 1/4 cup of heavy cream after I blended the soup and took it off of the heat. I sprinkled romano cheese on top too. It could use a little spice but very good without it. Very comforting and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was a wonderful soup, However that being said the soup did not have a very strong roasted pepper taste and as we love roasted peppers i think next time i will add maybe another two roasted red peppers. Also we found that a can of fire roasted tomatoes with chilies with a teaspoon of cumin really made this soup sing. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Delicious! I read that some people had a problem with bladness and tossed it. Mine came out wondefully flavourful and thick, and I think the trick is in the proportions. I followed the recipe up to the point when you add the chopped peppers to the onions. Here I added one can of beans in tomato sauce (canned baked beans, basically) and decided that it was beany enough. I threw in 1 and half stock cubes (1 veg, half chicken) because at this stage I thought I'd add all the liquid suggested. But after pouring in a pint of water (volume of one of the cans suggested), it looked thin enough. Blended it, tasted it, added a bit of dried parsley and cumin. Done, wonderful. So, in sum, half the beans, half the broth, a bit of extra flavouring of your choice. A lovely soup really, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States