Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was amazing, and easy to make. I made one alteration: I used a stew spice mix with oregano, garlic powder, paprika, and thyme, among others. This recipe was great, I made it for my Argentinean host family, who don't eat spicy food and tend to be bland. They loved this recipe. 10 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Fantastic. I pureed 3/4 of the soup and rather than doing the rest, I left the beans and the small pieces of peppers to give the soup a little more texture. Followed some previous reviews and added a little oregano and more garlic. Also added a dash of chili powder. This really is a great recipe. Definitely a repeat in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I've made this a few times now and I think I like it best tweaked just a tad. It's very good as is (the 4 star rating is my rating of the recipe as written.) As much as we loves beans, it just seems too gritty to us even after blending it up really well and then also simmering it down. I use only 1 can of beans, about 3 cups of water and 2 chicken bullion cubes. 3 very large bell peppers is fine, but 4 is best in my opinion. Onion and garlic the same as the recipe calls for. I also add a big dollop (maybe 3 tablespoons) of reduced fat sour cream at the end. I think its a lot creamier only using 1 can of beans and the sour cream, and it doesn't add a ton of calories if you only use a little. We top each bowl with a little fat free sun-dried tomato feta and freshly grated parmesan if we have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
When I roasted 8 red peppers, I also roasted 3 bulbs of garlic and 4 onions cut into quarters. The garlic gives a totally different taste when roasted and it is not over powering. I did not have any "cannellini beans" so I used 2 cans 19oz of "chick peas" instead. I chopped up some oregano and basil from my garden to add to the soup. All the roasting paid off. It tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianabouchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Love this soup. Family loves it too. Cannellini beans are hard to find in my area but they are worth the search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Like others I wasn't impressed with the texture. The beans have skins on them that don't break down with the blender. My solutions was to run the finished soup through my old fashioned food mill like I do when making applesauce. Doing that made this soup so much better. Adding things into it like sour cream or pesto take it to yet another level. Very versatile soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This soup was really easy and very elegant. I made a few changes: used one can of white beans instead of 2, added some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes, and used 4 peppers instead of 3. I used just a splash of cream at the end. When it came to serving it, I topped with some goat cheese and green onions. It looked amazing! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Love this soup and so do the kido's. Added fresh basil and increased the garlic. After the soup was prepared added in sauted Chicken apple smoked sausage. yummy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this as directed except used veg. broth instead of chicken. I usually love using beans as the "cream" in soups, but they overpowered mine. Maybe next time use at least double the peppers? I added a container of greek yogurt and that helped a bit, but still very beany. Not bad, just not the red pepper soup I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great red pepper soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States