Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I washed the seeds in water first and patted them dry. Tasted awesome with just butter and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Roasted Pumpkin Seeds' Haiku: "Can't go wrong with these. Carve your pumpkin, save the seeds! Maybe some more salt?" The hardest part of doing this is yanking and cleaning the seeds from the pumpkin guts, and waiting on them to dry; otherwise, following this recipe couldn't be easier, and the result is a nice, simple roasted pumpkin seed. Course, one could always add a plethora of seasonings, sugars, or spices, but this is a tasty, unpretentious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I don't know why mine didn't turn out as well as all the other reviews, maybe I had too much butter for the amount of seeds, but mine were either burnt or soggy. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Yum! OMG this was a great recipe! I added a bit of Parmesan Cheese a few minutes before they were done and reduced the temp to 275 instead of 300 and cooked for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These are the best pumpkin seeds I've ever roasted. So simple and yet, absolutely perfect. I had 3 cups of raw pumpkin seeds- 3 med/small pumpkins. Melted 2 Tbs. unsalted butter, poured butter over bowl of seeds and mixed with a spoon. Next I placed all the seeds on one cookie sheet and sprinkled with salt. Placed them in 300 degree gas oven and cooked for 45 minutes, stirring every few minutes. These seeds are beautifully golden and possess an amazing crunch! A perfect fall snack. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have been roasting pumpkin seeds for 20+ years. I was always under the assumption that you didn't need to let them dry out (rebellion on my part!). I decided to try this recipe and and followed others suggestions about letting them hang for about 24 hours. Yeah, do it. I melted (sorry I just winged it Butter, maybe a TBLS and added some olive oil for about 2 cups or so). I also added to that wet mixture some salt, garlic powder, "wor-blah-shire" sauce. Then I threw a bunch of seeds in it, stirred it up, put in on a greased and foiled cookie sheet. 300 degrees for 45 mins while shaking up the pan every little bit....came out super yummy. Can't go wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent! I boiled them first with salted water. Laid out on a cookie sheet and dried for about 24 hours. Tossed with butter as directed and roasted 3 batches- one with salt and a touch of olive oil and then added a dash of sugar after- one with salt and buttery popcorn oil and the last with garlic powder and salt.... My favorite was definitely the garlic powder and salt batch! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I doubled the butter used in the recipe. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I've roasted pumpkin seeds many times, but could never consistently get the temperature to baking time ratio correct. This is a great basic recipe and starting point for more creative endeavors, and a classic treat, as is. My daughter and I like a little more salt and a lot more butter, but that's just us. I'm glad I followed the recipe exactly before reading the reviews. Boiling them in salt water and drying overnight is not necessary!!! It might have added something, but during this busy season, it would have created more dirty dishes, not to mention wasted time and paper towels. That being said, I do think the butter and salt mixture would adhere better to dry seeds. You can easily accomplish this by baking the seeds for 10 minutes before adding them to the butter /salt mixture. Thanks for a good classic recipe and instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yum! Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States