Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Fantastic! Simple. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Used less salt. Have also roasted seed of other squash like butternut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great recipe... I grew up eating these things by the bag. You might vary the salt and butter to taste... I like my salty. As a matter of fact, I boil them for about 15 minutes in salt water, and then them dry overnight before baking. The biggest hassle is removing the pumpkin mush from the seeds. Here's a trick that might help. Separate the seeds from the bulk of the orange gunk. You now have the seeds and a whole bunch of orange strands. Get a deep pot or container, place the seeds in the water, give it a bit of a swirl, and let settle. The seeds will float to the top, and the bad stuff will settle to the bottom. Use a slotted spoon (or whatever) to remove the now clean seeds. Hope this helps... Keep the faith and keep cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These are a great use of a hulled pumpkin. I did not measure the salt and added a little garlic powder. I did bake them much longer until a nice, rich color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
never had these before, the are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is a great, basic recipe. There are obviously a multitude of variations that can be created. I am specifically commenting on baking technique, as the basic recipe is fine as is. Your geographic location, altitude, humidity, oven size /temp, the actual moisture content of the seeds, and your 'added' ingredients all play factors in how long you will spend actually roasting your seeds. What may take me more than two hours to perfectly roast my seeds, may only take 20-40 minutes for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good! It was my first time roasting pumpkin seeds - they taste a little like salted popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
VERY Tasty! My kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
It's much better to boil the seeds first. If you boil them in salt water, it infuses the salt in the seeds, instead of leaving the salt on the surface. It also eliminates the work of cleaning the seeds, because the boiling does the work for you. Finally, the result is tastier. Joy of Cooking recommends hulling pumpkin seeds, because the hulls are tough. Boiling eliminates that problem, resulting in a tasty, crispy (but not tough) product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was my first time roasting pumpkin seeds. It was so very easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States