Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
If you've never roasted pumpkin seeds before here are my tips. When you carve your pumpkins scoop the seeds into a colander and the guts onto newspaper. Inevitably some of the guts will be mixed in with the seeds but when you run water over them it's separated out pretty easily. After you drain the rinsed seeds, pour them onto a large, dry cookie sheet and let them sit for 24 hours or so to dry out. Now you can pick out the remaining pieces of pumpkin stuff that didn't get pulled out earlier and they will roast better if they are not wet when they go in the oven. My family prefers them seasoned with garlic salt in place of regular salt but you can use whatever suits your taste. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5638 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These were delicious!! I did make the following adjustments per other reviews: 1) I boiled the seeds in salted water for 20 minutes (it really does clean the seeds well,) 2) I then laid them out on a cookie sheet overnight to dry, 3) The next morning I mixed them with 1 tablespoon salt, 1 tablespoon melted butter and 1 tablespoon olive oil and 4) I spread the coated seeds on a cookie sheet and baked them for 30 minutes at 300 degrees. They were perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4008 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Hi I am Joseph I found out when you bake the seeds with oil & salt the salt is on the outside and not on the inside. I boil mine in a strong salt water till they look gray then I drain then I put them on Cooke sheet and bake them at 250 deg until drythank you Joseph M aka joscrazym Butler Pa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1724 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
We are enjoying these hot out of the oven, and I want to post a quick review because it is always so helpful to read the comments of others - thanks everyone! We had two cups of seeds so I upped the butter a bit and upped the salt even more - used garlic salt instead of Mortons. I learned from others that it is VERY important to keep your single layer single in order to get the nice toasty seeds - and even then, ours took a longer than 45 minutes on two cookie sheets. We just watched until they were toasty brown - and they are SO DELICIOUS! Thanks and happy Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
708 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is by far the best roasted pumpkin seed recipe. I have tried different recipes over the years, which have way more ingrediants than this one. I used Lowry's seasoning salt with mine--my kids loved them--they want to buy another pumpkin just for the seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I love pumpkin seeds! I found that leaving them unrinsed gives them a nice flavor. Also, I spray them with butter flavored Pam instead of using butter to lighten them up. Stir every 10 minutes or so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very good! I used suggestions from other reviews. I used a combination of butter and garlic flavored Pam instead of butter, and seasoned salt. Sprinkled a little bit of sugar on while they were hot...makes a great taste. They were gone in an hour. I'm going to experiment with cinnamon, nutmeg and regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I made this for my daughter's Halloween party and they were delicious! The parents couldn't stop eating them. I followed the directions of the person who suggested adding a sprinkle of sugar after baking. It was just right with the salt I had added previously! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed the steps to the recipe as written. As for the ingredients I had a lot more seeds so I used more butter (2tbs) and more salt (2tbs). I never boiled them as other users suggested. I only put them in a sink of water and cleaned them by swishing them around in the water and rubbing between my hands. This is NOT a complicated recipe so I suggest the 1st time you make these follow the recipe as written and the next time tweak as you like. Also for the ones that say you don't have salt on the inside....this is like salted sunflower seeds the salt is on the outside of the shell so you get the salt in your mouth as you crack open the seeds. PLEASE don't make this more difficult for people trying to make this for the 1st time as there are too many saying you HAVE to do this or that. If you are making this for the 1st time follow the recipe & remember these reviews are personal preferences and like I said you can "tweak" after you get the feel for this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateandnatesmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
My family loves roasted pumpkin seeds. We spiced up the seeds a bit this year by going with a seasoned salt instead of regular salt. How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States