Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These are the best pumpkin seeds I've ever roasted. So simple and yet, absolutely perfect. I had 3 cups of raw pumpkin seeds- 3 med/small pumpkins. Melted 2 Tbs. unsalted butter, poured butter over bowl of seeds and mixed with a spoon. Next I placed all the seeds on one cookie sheet and sprinkled with salt. Placed them in 300 degree gas oven and cooked for 45 minutes, stirring every few minutes. These seeds are beautifully golden and possess an amazing crunch! A perfect fall snack. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Manor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have been roasting pumpkin seeds for 20+ years. I was always under the assumption that you didn't need to let them dry out (rebellion on my part!). I decided to try this recipe and and followed others suggestions about letting them hang for about 24 hours. Yeah, do it. I melted (sorry I just winged it Butter, maybe a TBLS and added some olive oil for about 2 cups or so). I also added to that wet mixture some salt, garlic powder, "wor-blah-shire" sauce. Then I threw a bunch of seeds in it, stirred it up, put in on a greased and foiled cookie sheet. 300 degrees for 45 mins while shaking up the pan every little bit....came out super yummy. Can't go wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Excellent! I boiled them first with salted water. Laid out on a cookie sheet and dried for about 24 hours. Tossed with butter as directed and roasted 3 batches- one with salt and a touch of olive oil and then added a dash of sugar after- one with salt and buttery popcorn oil and the last with garlic powder and salt.... My favorite was definitely the garlic powder and salt batch! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I doubled the butter used in the recipe. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I've roasted pumpkin seeds many times, but could never consistently get the temperature to baking time ratio correct. This is a great basic recipe and starting point for more creative endeavors, and a classic treat, as is. My daughter and I like a little more salt and a lot more butter, but that's just us. I'm glad I followed the recipe exactly before reading the reviews. Boiling them in salt water and drying overnight is not necessary!!! It might have added something, but during this busy season, it would have created more dirty dishes, not to mention wasted time and paper towels. That being said, I do think the butter and salt mixture would adhere better to dry seeds. You can easily accomplish this by baking the seeds for 10 minutes before adding them to the butter /salt mixture. Thanks for a good classic recipe and instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yum! Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe is great! Instead of regular salt I used a packaged spicy salt blend including sea salt, paprika, and cayenne pepper. I also baked them longer, about 1 hour, stirring every 10 minutes. They were crispy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
EASY and pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Per the suggestions of others, I tried garlic powder on half the seeds and cinnamon/sugar on the other half. Nobody in my family liked the cinnamon/sugar coated seeds. My husband said he would like a little more garlic powder than I added, so I will double the salt and garlic powder next time (maybe a 1/2 tsp of each).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Yum, yum!! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann Ahrens

Displaying results 81-90 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States