Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So simple! I just tossed them in the butter and then sprinkled the salt after. I think you can taste the salt better in the end that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Yummy and a fun treat to make in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetMary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Works okay, but I found it better to simmer seeds in salt water first. I then lightly dried seeds by spreading seeds on sheet pan and placing in oven that was brought to 300 degrees and then shut off. I found that dry seeds hold butter and oil better for the baking process. When baking seeds I used 1 tbs of unsalted butter melted and a few drops of EVOO and mixing in bowl (3 cups of seed). After baking at 300 for approx. 30 minutes I removed from oven and coated with nutritional yeast and a hint of sugar. The salted water adds plenty of salt, especially as these were primarily going for the kids. Nutritional yeast is a healthy alternative to salt and butter and toppings with weird additives. An additional hint: I found that if I bake on a silpat sheet it is not necessary to stir seed during baking as they brown equally well on bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
So many opinions-boil/don't boil. I decided to follow the recipe. I added garlic powder as the video suggested. They were beautifully done after 45 minutes at 300°. They were crunchy, but not enough flavor. Even though they had been baked in garlic powder, I added cinnamon/sugar to half and they were delicious. I guess next time I will try boiling them in salted water to see if they are more flavorful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made these exactly as stated in the recipe. They were DELICIOUS. Had a hard time not eating them all myself. I had about 8 pumpkins. After they cool completely I am going to seal them in 4 oz packages using my Foodsaver and using them as part of treat baskets for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Boil and then simmer seeds in salt water until grey, then toss in olive oil and bake. Watch closely so they don't burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Made these twice now. Did small pumpkin and squash seeds first time and so delicious and simple! Did the large pumpkin seeds tonight and so yummy as well. Thanks for the simple recipe. These are the best my pumpkin and squash seeds have ever turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very Good! I made 3 different kinds: Lawry's Seasoning Salt, Garlic Salt, and salt and pepper. Everything thing else I did as the recipe suggests. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Don't follow this recipe as is - if you follow the directions exactly, your seeds will come out tasting and smelling like chewy, burnt popcorn. My suggestion would be to follow the reviews instead of the actual recipe. (Sometimes this site cracks me up - a recipe is rated as five stars, but everyone that rates it as such follows a completely modified recipe instead). Dry the raw seeds out for 24 hours, then boil in salted water for ten minutes, and dry. Cook at 250 instead of 300, and stir them every 10 minutes while they're cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I've made before but I used olive oil and have always cooked the same night. Don't know if it made a difference but this time I let them dry out overnight. The butter really makes a difference. I mixed it all in a bowl and then also added some garlic powder. I stirred every 15mins for 1hr and then left in oven another 15mins with oven turned off. Perfect! I had a big pumpkin so the seeds were bigger and I had no problem with them burning. For those that have had them burn, check and make sure you put on middle shelf and if seeds are smaller then cook less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States