Roasted Potatoes with Tomatoes, Basil, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
The potatoes turn out great with basil and rosemary. But 400F is far too hot to ever expose basil to, not to mention for 30 minutes. The basil is best added 10 minutes prior to taking out of the oven, and the tomatoes do best at 350F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rain Audiart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I love any roasted potatoe!, but I always 'par boil first' it cuts cooking time and keeps the inside moist and the outside crisp and this is the key to not overcooking other added vegies etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Very nice. Used very small reds, cut in half and steamed for 10 minutes. Put on low sided foil covered baking sheet and drizzled with garlic infused EVOO. Cut fresh grape tomatoes in half and tossed with potatoes, fresh basil and oil. Roasted at 425 deg. for 15 minutes on next lowest rack in oven. Tossed on the fresh chopped rosemary and back in oven for another 5 min. Before eating added more fresh basil and a grind of salt and fresh black pepper. Served with steamed fresh shrimp and roasted fresh corn. Steaming and roasting times can vary--they do for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I added 1/2 chopped onion and 1 sliced sweet pepper. My husband absolutely loved it. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I really enjoyed this. As always, I like to twist things around just a bit. I agree with everyone who suggested more rosemary. Even if your not a big fan of garlic, more IS better. After roasting it becomes sweet, and mild. I added just a sprinkel or two of Balsamic viniger, and tossed everything together before baking. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This was good but as written I can definitely see how they could be bland. I upped my fresh rosemary, added more basil, more garlic, some garlic pepper and garlic salt, season salt etc and they came out very tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a wonderful dish. I added fresh cracked black pepper and sprinkled parmesan cheese on the top for the last 10 minutes. Wonderful flavors without being too heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
A nice side dish to serve with 'Easy Tilapia with Wine & Tomatoes'. For the tomatoes, I used canned petite diced (drained of excess liquid) which roasted to a sundried tomato chewiness -- a fav. Added more garlic, S & P and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Diced on the smallish side, the potatoes were done in 30 min. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was delicious, I added some left over bacon that I finely chopped and it really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
VERY GOOD!! Can never go wrong with basil and garlic with potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States