Roasted Potatoes with Tomatoes, Basil, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I'm sorry... maybe we messed this one up... but it was awful! Way too much basil and the cook time is way off. (I liked the tomato addition and want to work that into another roasted potato recipe though... not this one!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made this recipe two ways: first, I followed it exactly as stated and it was OK, basil and tomatoes too overcooked and lacking some flavor. Second time around, I chopped up the garlic and some white onion and added them to the listed ingredients. I took all of the ingredients and put them into a pot of water and boiled(1:5 ratio for water-ingredients)for ten minutes and simmered for fifteen. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisakap

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I love this stuff. I add a few thinly sliced onions, and make the sauce a bit more substantial with a mix of olive oil, tomato paste and seasonings. Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
VERY GOOD!! Can never go wrong with basil and garlic with potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The flavor was excellent, although potatoes didn't seem quite done. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so instead I used a can of diced tomatoes (Hunt's brand with roasted garlic) and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by austinveggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I left out the rosemary, used cherry tomatoes and added 1/4 cup of Italian dressing.(used lots of salt and pepper) Very good as my side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Delicious! Omitted the rosemary (for personal preference), decreased the garlic to 2 cloves, and sprinkled with salt/pepper as suggested. Company enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesston, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I tried this recipe twice.. the second time was the best! I used more garlic less rosemary, a little bit more tomoato and added the basil 10 minutes from end of cooking time. Delicious. Adding lemon juice and/or Parmesan cheese would be okay but not needed to enhance flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used the recipe as a guideline and threw all the ingredients together with some salt and pepper. I did par-boil the potatoes for about 7-8 minutes before putting them in the oven. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was disappointing. I thought with all that fresh basil and tomatoes, this should been superb, but even the addition of parmesan wasn't much help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States