Roasted Potatoes with Tomatoes, Basil, and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
These were ok. This recipe needs some important modifications. The temp should be at least 425 if not 450 for 45 minutes to get these cooked well. Also the basil burned off and should be added at the end. Add some parmesan on top and your good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Found the cooking time for me took much longer, but overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Everyone loved this. Great flavor with the basil and tomatoes. I did wait until last ten minutes to mix in the basil. Made the mistake of waiting to throw the rosemary in then, too. That should probably go in right in the beginning. Also, I quartered the red potatoes and cooked it at 400 degrees for 35 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I have used this recipe a few times now and each time have had to add about 20 minutes onto the cook time. Maybe I am not cutting the potatoes up small enough. I also add shredded Romano cheese right out of the oven to give it that extra touch. Very good each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.. How could anyone like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
When I think of Roasted Potatoes, I imagine potatoes that are crispy on the outside and tender inside. Maybe the tomatoes that I used (yellow tomatoes ripe from the garden) contained too much juice because instead of roasted potatoes and roasted tomatoes, I ended up with cooked potatoes in a slightly thickened tomato sauce. The flavors were very good (hence the "4" rating), but the texture was not what I was expecting. I topped the "casserole" with cheese to make it a complete light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was decent. I needed to use up some fresh tomatoes and I was surprised how good they tasted in this. I usually like my roasted potatoes more on the "dry" side, but these were good---just different. I added more rosemary as others suggested and more basil as well. These could really use some salt. By no means my favorite potato recipe, but the fresh herbs and tomatoes give it extra points in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe but wish I would have listened to other reviewers because it was really bland. I could taste basil of course, but the recipe needed something to balance and complement the basil-ness. Next time I plan to double the garlic and add onions. We'll see if that helps. As it is written, the recipe didn't impress me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollee_sheehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
These are awesome! I wanted something different and had tomatoes around so this was a good choice. I used dried spices instead of fresh. I put them in hot water for about 30 minutes before using to rehydrate them. I used about a tablespoon of the basil and about 1 tsp of rosemary. I also added about 1 tsp of Parsley and 2 pieces of fried, chopped bacon. I used regular potatoes instead of the red ones. This recipe is awesome! I'm so glad you posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I thought this was a great starter recipe, but i added a bit to it and it turned out fantastic! I diced red potatoes and pre-boiled them for 9 minutes. After, steam fresh green beans for 7 minutes. Strain both veggies, and put on a broiling pan along with fresh diced seeded tomatoes, 1 fresh chopped clove of garlic, 1/2 cup of feta cheese, and 1 can of chopped artichoke hearts. Then sprinkle basil & parmesan & bake for 15-20 minutes! The only reason I give it 4 stars is because you need to add more to make it into 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States