Roasted Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
The combination of ingredients reads like a child's science experiment and is devoid of any complementary flavors. I not only wasted the ingredients, but the sheet of paper printing out this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was not very good. The recipe did not call for a certain kind of apples, so I used Granny Smith, which is what you usually use in baking. It was really sour, due to the apples and the cider vinegar. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I thought the ingredients in this recipe looked interesting so I tried it even though it had low ratings. My husband and I really liked this recipe but it does have a sweet and sour flavor that's different from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghostlibrarian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Not sure what the others expected. This was a delicious sweet tart potato dish. I cooked it along with another item so it cooked longer at a lower temperature but I didn't change the recipe otherwise. I did use gala apples,pale yellow-skinned potatoes and brown mustard (instead of yellow). Went great with roast lamb and duck with orange sauce. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
No one liked this at all. Apples and potatoes just don't go together but I gave it a whirl. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I was looking for a new way to make roasted potatoes and thought this looked interesting. Unfortunately, I didn't like the taste at all. I have no suggestions on what I would change....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I wanted something different, and this was it. unfortunately for my taste i thought it was bland. the apples got mushy befor the potatoes were completely done. It needs something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Tasted like a weird dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I found this to be an interesting dish, however, I believe the key to making this taste good is the type of apple. If you want to make this, use a sweet and firm apple, like a Pacific Rose. Red or Golden delicious will turn to mush and Granny Smiths are too tart for a savory dish. To bring the potatoes and apples together, I also added onion and rather than using olive oil, I used peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: New Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made these with honeyed lamb, and my picky husband ate these more than anything else. LOL :) I used a firm apple type (a jonny mac hybrid) and cut the apple in larger pieces than the potatoes. The potatoes came out at just the right firmness and the apples were a little soft. I think next time I will add them later in the cooking time (maybe halfway through). Oh, I also did you the Dijon mustard instead of basic yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States