Roasted Portobello, Red Pepper, and Arugula Salad for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious even though I substituted mostly green leaf lettuce because I didn't have that much arugula and used parmesan instead of romano cheese. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
1) I didn't have red wine vinegar, so used balsamic--great! 2) I wished I had taken the advice of one reviewer who said to leave it open in the oven, so it could brown a little. 3) Serve with goat cheese, like one of the reviewers said... WOW!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I'm not a fan of mushrooms, but my husband is and I love to try to recipes for him. He absolutely LOVED it!! I only made the mushroom as a side dish sliced without the salad, he practically licked the plate! This will definitely be a regular at our dinner table. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I balanced the Romano cheese and arugula with red seedless grapes as a garnish and sprinkled on a few pieces of broken walnuts for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by handbanana
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
We aren't salad eaters but are trying to eat healthier. Husband took one bite and was in love with this salad! It really is great. Used a large package of baby bellas instead of the large portobello and made my own greek dressing from this site which is wonderful: Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing. This recipe is so yummy I have to make it again soon. Update: Warmed leftover mushroom/red pepper mix on the stove for salad the following night. The leftover sauce from roasting the mushrooms/red pepper is absolutely divine for dipping bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A little more creative than most salads and certainly a lot more sophisticated and elegant. Actually, it was kind of a culinary conversation piece! I made my own Lemon-Dijon Vinaigrette but beyond that I stuck to the recipe just as written. Great Mediterranean feel, the perfect accompaniment to the Spanish Meatballs I served this with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was a great salad. I used arugula from the garden, which made it very fresh. I halved medium-sized button mushrooms as I didn't have portobellas. Upsized the recipe for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is a five star salad~~ I served it for 10 recently. A Hit! Used the arugula and spinach salad mix from Costco, chopped the garlic, onion and red peppers finely and sprinkled them over the gill side of m/r~~ made up my own favorite vinegrete, added feta instead of romano to greens, poured a bit of melted butter onto the gill side of the mushrooms and brushed OO on the outside, Another variation for flavor is to render down 1/2 cup of balsamic and use that in place of the red wine vinegar! Yum! Thanks for this wonderful salad suggestion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this last night for my boyfriend and I. It was AMAZING! Baby bellas were on sale, so we used those, and instead of wrapping everything up in the oven, I left it open to brown up the mushrooms a bit. We used arugula out of the garden mixed with a bit of spinach from the store. Oh, and I added a bit of feta cheese. What an amazing combination! We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was delicious and very easy to prepare. I roasted my own peppers and made the Greek dressing (olive oil, red wine vinegar, dijon mustard, garlic, and fresh oregano and basil). Once it was baked, I chopped the mushroom and tossed everything with the arugula to wilt the greens slightly. I didn't use the cheese, and it didn't seem to be lacking. I think feta would be a great complement, along with some pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States