Roasted Pork Shoulder with Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by usafmedic143
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Okay, so I had a few problems with this. First off, I wasn't too happy with the pomegranate flavor. If you do what the recipe says and do the pomegranate sauce yourself, it is a lot of work for a little bit of flavor. Secondly, I'm not sure if i liked the choice of cut for the pork. Yes, it was VERY tender, but it for me personally, id prefer something boneless and with less fat. Would I make this in the future? yes, probably. But i would probably use boneless pork loin and use pomegranate juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmedic143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was pretty good. I think it was the way I cooked it that left it lacking. I cooked it in my crock pot and I used Pomegranate juice cocktail. I should have used straight Pomegranate juice, maybe it would have tasted better. I will try this again to see if I have more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Easy, looks great, but for my roast the flavor of the pomegranate did not really sink in very far. Still tasty, but I whish more of the pomegranate taste got further in the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Felicia, thank you so much for the terrific photo! You do nice work, lady ;D and it makes the dish look wonderful. Much appreciated! -- mags
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this for a backyard party and everyone loved it. I usually make my own changes, but this time I did it as written. What a great flavor for pork! Not one bite legt, even though I also cooked 15 New York steaks as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
The first time I made this, it was a hit at the corporate potluck. Last time, I got good reviews at my family party. The sauce reminds me of a sweet and spicy (cinnamon) teriyake sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Well, my pork came out quite tender, but the flavor was odd. Maybe it's because I can't use cinnamon (allergy), but the pork/pomegranate combo just didn't do it for me. I'm going to use the remaining meat in some spicy croquettes or something to try and hide the flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was working nights for the Christmas holiday and thought I would try this one. I changed several things about the recipe. The pomagrantes here didn't look so (going out of season) good so I used juice. I also put every thing in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 10 hours. Oh my goodness was it good and tender and my picky family truely enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
A real family pleaser. My daughter is pretty picky and doesn't eat too much meat. I actually seen her go back for 2nds just on the roasted pork. I will defently make it again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States