Roasted Pork Shoulder with Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was working nights for the Christmas holiday and thought I would try this one. I changed several things about the recipe. The pomagrantes here didn't look so (going out of season) good so I used juice. I also put every thing in the crock pot and cooked it on low for 10 hours. Oh my goodness was it good and tender and my picky family truely enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this for a backyard party and everyone loved it. I usually make my own changes, but this time I did it as written. What a great flavor for pork! Not one bite legt, even though I also cooked 15 New York steaks as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
The first time I made this, it was a hit at the corporate potluck. Last time, I got good reviews at my family party. The sauce reminds me of a sweet and spicy (cinnamon) teriyake sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by usafmedic143
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Okay, so I had a few problems with this. First off, I wasn't too happy with the pomegranate flavor. If you do what the recipe says and do the pomegranate sauce yourself, it is a lot of work for a little bit of flavor. Secondly, I'm not sure if i liked the choice of cut for the pork. Yes, it was VERY tender, but it for me personally, id prefer something boneless and with less fat. Would I make this in the future? yes, probably. But i would probably use boneless pork loin and use pomegranate juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafmedic143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Absolutely loved this dish! It was wonderful! Used POM pomegranate juice which makes things a lot less messy. Was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was pretty good. I think it was the way I cooked it that left it lacking. I cooked it in my crock pot and I used Pomegranate juice cocktail. I should have used straight Pomegranate juice, maybe it would have tasted better. I will try this again to see if I have more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Easy enough and love the flavor of the glaze. I added a little rosemary to the garlic and seasonings, and mixed it all with a little oil, then cut slits in the roast, packing them with the mixture. Substituted apple cider vinegar and honey in the glaze. Smelled great in the oven and tasted great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Easy, looks great, but for my roast the flavor of the pomegranate did not really sink in very far. Still tasty, but I whish more of the pomegranate taste got further in the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Felicia, thank you so much for the terrific photo! You do nice work, lady ;D and it makes the dish look wonderful. Much appreciated! -- mags
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
yummy. I made extra pomegranate sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States