Roasted Pecan Banana Bread Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I make this recipe all the time and I will need to disagree with the reviewer who claimed these were rubbery. The recipe clearly states to mix your dry ingredients separately and then stir them into the wet mix. STIR, don't beat. I get asked all the time to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made these in large muffin tins and baked for 18 to 20 minutes! They were fabulous! It was my first time having "roasted" pecans! I am SO hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I used whole wheat flour, I cut the sugar back to a half cup (my bananas were REALLY ripe so I really didn't need that much sugar) and used free-range eggs. She wasn't kidding about the coconut extract really being the money flavor in these muffins. Holy frijoles, was that GOOD! And I'll tell you, using whole wheat flour and cutting back on the sugar didn't affect the flavor AT ALL. NOTE: I got 12 medium-large muffins out of this recipe. 350* for 20 minutes was just right for muffins. If you want to avoid a rubbery loaf/muffin, I suggest you wisk together the dry ingredients in one bowl, then wisk together all the wet and lightly fold the wet ingredients into the dry. This way, you don't overwork your ingredients and don't end up with a "rubbery" muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this exactly as stated and it was terrific. It was so moist. I did make it as a large loaf instead of the mini loaves and I had to cover it to keep from browning too much while it finished baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The loaves had a nice taste, but the texture was not right. They were definitely rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
VERY good banana bread. I doubled the ingredients and it made 7 mini loaves (6 x 3 1/2). I made as directed with the exception of light butter, only had regular. Baked 3 without nuts (for son) and 4 with the toasted nuts. Delicious - will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was a special one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
My sisters loved this and requested for more! Used the mini loaves pan, added 3/4 c of sweetened coconut flakes and reduced sugar to 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Didn't toast the pecans but it was just as good. I have an 8 mini loaf pan and used a medium size ice cream scooper to fill my pan. I used 3 scoops for each loaf. My son loves this recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I made a 9 inch round cake and my floor mates devoured the whole thing within 15 minutes! I took the advice of others and avoided overbeating the batter, and ended up with a perfectly moist and soft cake. I will definitely be recommending this recipe to other baking enthusiasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States