Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Perfect autumn recipe. Easy, easy - and delicious. It took a 9X13 pan to fit the pears - I used 8 TBL. butter and a bit more sugar. I chopped up a bit of crystallized ginger and fresh grated nutmeg (idea from "30 minute meals" on the food network - they had used canned pears for their recipe). Because my fruit was very ripe (I used bartlett pears) I reduced the first cooking time by 10 minutes. Even then the fruit was just beginning to fall apart. I served the pears with vanilla ice cream instead of sour cream. The only minor complaint was eating the skin of the pear - they didn't like the texture. I will make this dessert again for my family and for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
So delicious and easy! I peeled the pears. Also, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I used whipped cream instead of sour cream. Because my pears were a little soft to begin with, I reduced the first bake to around 15 minutes. And I topped with chopped pecans. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I can't get over how much butter and sugar this recipe calls for! I cut both the butter and sugar to 2 tbsp. each, peeled and cut my pears into fans so the syrup could penetrate, sprinkled them with a little lemon juice before roasting, and basted them a couple of times while roasting for 30 minutes. The Bosc pears held up very well. As soon as I removed the pears from the oven, I poured 2 oz. Amaretto over them and let the liqueur mix into the caramel. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Wow! A fancy dessert in no time flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Simple and tasty. Although you dont really need a recipe for this, just play around with the ingrediants, add some cinnamon to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Very good. Next time I would brown the cut side of the pears in a pan with butter before baking in the oven. The cut side didn't brown up & caramelize like I thought it would. The flavour however was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Super easy. Just tickled my family with this dessert. They all liked it, including the picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catycool
Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Super easy and very tastey! I used whip cream instead of sour cream and also served with a side of coffee ice cream. Delish, the caramel hardened over the ice cream and was a cold and warm treat all in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Easy and tasty; I subbed in dollop of strawberry icrcream instead of sourcream; I used 2 fat Basque pears and only cooked about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Just tried this recipe and the sauce burned. Used Royal Riviera pears. Will try this again but will keep a close eye on the cooking time. This recipe definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States