Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I can't get over how much butter and sugar this recipe calls for! I cut both the butter and sugar to 2 tbsp. each, peeled and cut my pears into fans so the syrup could penetrate, sprinkled them with a little lemon juice before roasting, and basted them a couple of times while roasting for 30 minutes. The Bosc pears held up very well. As soon as I removed the pears from the oven, I poured 2 oz. Amaretto over them and let the liqueur mix into the caramel. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Perfect autumn recipe. Easy, easy - and delicious. It took a 9X13 pan to fit the pears - I used 8 TBL. butter and a bit more sugar. I chopped up a bit of crystallized ginger and fresh grated nutmeg (idea from "30 minute meals" on the food network - they had used canned pears for their recipe). Because my fruit was very ripe (I used bartlett pears) I reduced the first cooking time by 10 minutes. Even then the fruit was just beginning to fall apart. I served the pears with vanilla ice cream instead of sour cream. The only minor complaint was eating the skin of the pear - they didn't like the texture. I will make this dessert again for my family and for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
YUM! I used Bosc pears after reading the submitter's description (which I really appreciated - thanks!). I think some of the juicier pears may make the caramel sauce thinner, but you can also always reduce it once your pears are done baking if it's too thin for you. I left my pears whole and cored them from the bottom, then set them on the sour cream and dirzzled with the caramel sauce and added toasted walnut halves. Lovely and yummy. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
So delicious and easy! I peeled the pears. Also, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I used whipped cream instead of sour cream. Because my pears were a little soft to begin with, I reduced the first bake to around 15 minutes. And I topped with chopped pecans. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
My pears were pretty ripe (I used Bosc) so I decreased teh cooking time to about 20 minutes total & i didn't bother to peel them. I cut the temp back to 375 because the caramel smelled like it might be starting to burn...next time I will start it out at 375. The caramel was still a bit "crystally" so you might want to start it first if you are decreasing teh cooking time for the pears. I served it w/ a scoop of sweetened whipped cream (that I added a tsp of almond extract too) instead of sour cream & garnished w/ chopped toasted almonds. Very enjoyable...will have again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the sour cream would be too tart with this dessert, but it actually added a wonderful creaminess. I would definately recommend it for cool summer or fall nights when you feel like putting the bit of extra effort forth for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
What a delicious, easy, elegant dessert. I sprikled chopped pecans into the carmel sauce after it came out of the oven. I left the peel on the pears and actually it was the best part. Recipe is perfect as is or you could experiment with some cinnamon or ginger to kick it up if desired. Will use this for company... excellent comfort food and lower calorie than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joannekennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were super easy and tasty! My pears were really ripe so I decreased the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and also sprinkled some cinnamon down before adding the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
substituted margarine for butter, almonds for pistachios, and added a sprinkle of cinnamon. this was sooo awesome! short and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISTIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APCOOKING
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
You know, this is really good! It's a bit of a misleader to say "Caramel Sauce" as it isn't thick as that suggests, but rather runny. However, I don't really think it matters. I used very ripe pears, so I cut down the baking time by 10 minutes. The pistachios are GORGEOUS with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States