Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I can't rave enough about how simple and elegant this dessert is. Fantastic! As others suggested, turn down the temperature to 375 or the caramel will start to burn. I also used the melon baller to scoop out the pits and look more professional. The sour cream was elegant, and I don't even like sour cream! Try it! I will make this again with a tiny hint of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the sour cream would be too tart with this dessert, but it actually added a wonderful creaminess. I would definately recommend it for cool summer or fall nights when you feel like putting the bit of extra effort forth for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
A nice presentation, something different than my usual pastries. I used my melon baller to core the pear halves. Took the advice of others and baked the pears at 375, which seemed to work just fine. Pears held their shape, caramel didn't burn. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
My pears were pretty ripe (I used Bosc) so I decreased teh cooking time to about 20 minutes total & i didn't bother to peel them. I cut the temp back to 375 because the caramel smelled like it might be starting to burn...next time I will start it out at 375. The caramel was still a bit "crystally" so you might want to start it first if you are decreasing teh cooking time for the pears. I served it w/ a scoop of sweetened whipped cream (that I added a tsp of almond extract too) instead of sour cream & garnished w/ chopped toasted almonds. Very enjoyable...will have again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
What a delicious, easy, elegant dessert. I sprikled chopped pecans into the carmel sauce after it came out of the oven. I left the peel on the pears and actually it was the best part. Recipe is perfect as is or you could experiment with some cinnamon or ginger to kick it up if desired. Will use this for company... excellent comfort food and lower calorie than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joannekennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Just tried this recipe and the sauce burned. Used Royal Riviera pears. Will try this again but will keep a close eye on the cooking time. This recipe definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Easy and tasty; I subbed in dollop of strawberry icrcream instead of sourcream; I used 2 fat Basque pears and only cooked about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Super easy and very tastey! I used whip cream instead of sour cream and also served with a side of coffee ice cream. Delish, the caramel hardened over the ice cream and was a cold and warm treat all in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Super easy. Just tickled my family with this dessert. They all liked it, including the picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catycool
Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Very good. Next time I would brown the cut side of the pears in a pan with butter before baking in the oven. The cut side didn't brown up & caramelize like I thought it would. The flavour however was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States