Roasted Parmesan Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
We love roasted asparagus. I don't know if the initial steaming (blanching) is really necessary. We like our asparagus on the crisp side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious! Only thing I did was add the lemon juice before baking, because I like my asparagus green. Other than that, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
In my opinion, steaming the asparagus before roasting it is not only an inconvenient, unnecessary step that uses more pans, but it may even result in overcooking the asparagus once it finally makes it to the 475 degreee oven. I roasted mine in a 400 degree oven alongside the fish I prepared for dinner. Both were done in 15 minutes (as a point of reference my asparagus were on the thicker side) For a seasoning twist I used Penzey's Chicago Steak Seasoning instead of just ground pepper. Easier and five-star excellent if simply roasted in the oven, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I did not bother messing with the steam step. I just layered the asparagus on the baking sheet and followed the rest of the instructions as listed. I did add a sprinkling of salt. I did bake mine just a touch longer--almost 15 minutes. Pretty good. No leftovers--what my family did not eat, I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I did not love this recipe, i followed it exactly and i feel as though it was missing something on the topping, it was however better than regular asparagus and it was something that i will make again but maybe add more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was an absolute success. I normally have leftovers, not tonight. I used some tips from other people who made this. I baked it at 475 for about 12 minutes and then broiled it for about 4 minutes. I added the lemon juice prior to cooking and it kept that vibrant green color. I added a little salt as well. I did skip the steaming as we prefer a little crunch to our asparagus. This is a wonderful recipe and I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
So delicious! Did NOT steam the asparagus....just roasted it. Squeezed the fresh lemon over the asparagus after it was roasted and that gave an awesome fresh flavor. My family inhaled this veggie last night and I ws glad I mande 2 bunches because it was gone. Skip the steaming and go right to roasting....you wont regret it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I make this all the time only I add 4pcs minced bacon and 1 tbsp garlic and only a touch of oil to kick this up a notch. You can skip the steaming step all togeher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I did not steam the asparagus and forgot the lemon. I baked at 400 for about 10 minutes and they were a nice firm but tender texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States