Roasted Onion Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I love caramelized onions so I had a feeling I would love this mayonnaise. The only problem I had is the fact that my onion didn't get a nice caramel colour all over but it had that wonderful smell and was very soft by the time 30 minutes had past. Only the edges seemed to get caramelized in looks. It smelled wonderful when I processed it but I should have left it to sit before using it for the flavours to meld better. I will make again, maybe I'll cut the onion pieces smaller (so they'd have the caramelized look all over) cause I was hoping the mayo would have a nice colour from the onions. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
We really, really enjoyed this mayonnaise recipe! I read how Roxanne was hoping for more carmalization on her onions, so instead of just cutting them in half I cut them into thick slices and placed them on the cookie sheet with 3 cloves of garlic as well. I brushed on a little evoo and sprinkled w/ freshly ground black pepper and sea salt. Halfway through roasing, I flipped them over and everything was nice and caramel colored. I also made this a day in advance to allow the flavors to blend better. This was sooooo delicious on our mushroom swiss burgers. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for posting. :) NOTE: This makes a wonderful dipping sauce for french fries and onion rings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I also cut my onion in thick slices & made a day ahead. This was very good. I think next time I'll add garlic too-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I thought this would be better. I thought it was a little bland. Not bad but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A definite MUST TRY! I made this for homemade Frisco Burgers. I used yellow onion - IMO, it has more onion flavor - chopped in half, then into quarters. Sprinkled with a bit of kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, and EVOO. Added a couple of sprinkles of garlic powder at the end so it wouldn't burn. I only used 1 onion and added about 1/2 cup of mayo. It was plenty for us, and there is some for leftovers. I would recommend to let the flavors mingle, as the other reviewers do, with the mayo overnight, but it's also good right away. This is now our burger mayo! YUM! (My husband doesn't even like mayo, but he'll eat this.) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Absolutely make this at least a day before using. It is so yummy! Now I'm looking for things I can make using this stuff it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I found that I could have more control over the caramelization process if I put some EVOO and a pat of butter in a saute pan, sliced my onions into thin rings, and caramelized them that way. I seasoned the onion slices (I used one large onion--the size of a fist) with a light sprinkling sea salt, fresh ground pepper, smoked sweet paprika, and some garlic powder.The process was easier on the old electric bill this way too. The onions were sauted on a medium-low heat until nicely caramelized--about 25 minutes, and then left to cool. I added the onions to 1/2 cup of mayo and blended in my blender, and let sit in the container overnight in the refrigerator. The end result was a pretty light golden brown colored mayo and the taste was fantastic on the burgers I made for the family. I will make this again and keep some in a container in the fridge. This onion mayo would be good as a dip for baked potato wedges or on other types of sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Marie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was awesome. I am having burgers tomorrow so I wanted something with alittle zing and this is it. I used about 3/4 cup of mayo and 1 medium onion. Cut the onion into fourths and added 2 cloves of garlic...drizzled with EVOO and salt and pepper, cooked for about 35 minutes and let my blender do the rest....AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
THIS ROCKS!!!! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. The roasting of the onions brings out the flavor. This was delicious on hamburgers, but our favorite thing is to use it as a french fry dipping sauce. Everyone I have served this to, loves it. Great stuff. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States