Roasted Onion Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I halved this recipe. I did drizzle a little EVOO over the onions before baking and the mayonnaise I used was reduced fat. I made no other changes. I actually made this the night before last as I wanted it to sit in the fridge for as long as possible before using. This. Is. MONEY. I used this in a BLT Sandwich Wrap for dinner last night and let me tell you, it made the wrap incredible. I don't know why I haven't heard of this before but you bet that I'll make this frequently. This would be a wonderful addition to homemade ranch dressing or Secret Sauce. What a killer idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I used this tonight after viewing this recipe. I blended in my magic bullet, and it came out extraordinary. I used two medium white onions, instead of sweet, and it still have a wonderful flavouring to it. Thank you! Such a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camgurlof1990

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great to add to any burger!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
YUM! Ima mayonnaise fanatic:) LOL I made this to go on some patty melts we had last night and it was fabulous! I also added a few tblsp sour cream to what was left over today and ate it as a dip with corn chips! Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Tanya
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this last night for "sandwich night." My husband loved it and I thought it was pretty good. I had to roast the onions for quite a bit longer than the 30 minutes called for. And I still didn't have the caramelization I thought I should have. Next time I will take the advice of another reviewer and cut the onion into large slices instead of halves. Otherwise this was a quick and easy recipe. I think it would be great over burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
THIS ROCKS!!!! If I could give it 10 stars, I would. The roasting of the onions brings out the flavor. This was delicious on hamburgers, but our favorite thing is to use it as a french fry dipping sauce. Everyone I have served this to, loves it. Great stuff. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was awesome. I am having burgers tomorrow so I wanted something with alittle zing and this is it. I used about 3/4 cup of mayo and 1 medium onion. Cut the onion into fourths and added 2 cloves of garlic...drizzled with EVOO and salt and pepper, cooked for about 35 minutes and let my blender do the rest....AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I found that I could have more control over the caramelization process if I put some EVOO and a pat of butter in a saute pan, sliced my onions into thin rings, and caramelized them that way. I seasoned the onion slices (I used one large onion--the size of a fist) with a light sprinkling sea salt, fresh ground pepper, smoked sweet paprika, and some garlic powder.The process was easier on the old electric bill this way too. The onions were sauted on a medium-low heat until nicely caramelized--about 25 minutes, and then left to cool. I added the onions to 1/2 cup of mayo and blended in my blender, and let sit in the container overnight in the refrigerator. The end result was a pretty light golden brown colored mayo and the taste was fantastic on the burgers I made for the family. I will make this again and keep some in a container in the fridge. This onion mayo would be good as a dip for baked potato wedges or on other types of sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Absolutely make this at least a day before using. It is so yummy! Now I'm looking for things I can make using this stuff it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States