Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ldyswedee
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Was very good...next time I'll try cooking a little longer for crispness & adding garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Living in Japan, few vegetables that are common in my hometown, Chicago IL, are available for cheap on a regular basis. Okra is an exception. Having not ever cooked it before, I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe, but I have grown to really understand that sometimes the simplest ingredients are the best. Delicious from my toaster oven! I'll be making this again. In response to the comment that the okra become slimy, I think this might just be the nature of okra. I didn't find it slimy at all, but it wasn't exactly crispy either. It just doesn't do that unless you bread and fry it. This is a healthier option ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Armand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was the first time I ever prepared/ate Okra. It will definitely be on the menu often now, as long as I can find it at the store. It is so yummy!! Rather than measure salt and pepper, I just sprinkled some on once they were in the pan. You don't need much salt, as even with what I thought was a light salting, the okra tasted a bit salty. I did feel it needed another flavor, so next time I will add some garlic I think. Per others' suggestions I roasted the okra longer. I roasted it for 35 minutes, turning them over halfway through. They were a light brown and not slimy at all, which was what I was concerned about. Definitely a keeper recipe. I am hoping I can get the grandchildren to try it. I think they will like it, since Okra does not have a strong flavor/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Delicious! The best way to fix okra, or just about any other vegetable. I believe the key to reducing the slimey-ness it to make sure you slice the orka pods every inch or so. That way the interior liquid has a chance to roast off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Amazing! I never cooked with okra before. My sister introduced me to this recipe. I added cayenne pepper for some heat. Easy healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I had to roast mine for 25 mins...they shrunk, but I was fine with that...however, this is a fairly mundane recipe. So, for my second batch I added a little garlic salt/powder and threw in some panko crumbs. That's what gave this recipe 4 stars! I'll make it again with the panko crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrys in ChiTown
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Turned out great, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My husband reluctantly agreed to taste one bite. I was very surprised when he get gobbling it down as if I'd left cookies on the stove. Why have I never seen okra served this way before? This recipe will be used again and again at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth Ellenbogen Schopf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I've never tried okra in my life until I happened to grab a bag at a local farmer's market. I'm so glad I found this recipe, AMAZING! Definitely an okra fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina_m7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jerica
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It was easy and fast to make. Very tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States