Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I am originally from the Dominican Republic and just to give out a tiny little secret to getting rid of most of the sliminess of okras... If you place them in just enough cold water to cover and squeeze an entire lime into the water and lime juice and just let it sit for about 10-15 minutes, then drain and season to please, I promise it will lose most of the slimy texture you get when stewing, etc... Hope this helps :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Mercy me, these were delicious. I cut a few okra up, splashed a little olive oil in the bowl, sprinkled a little seasoning salt on them, tossed and spread in a pan along side sliced zucchini. I rarely fry foods, so this was a terrific substitute for fried okra. Keep in mind that the longer you cook it, the smaller it shrinks, so what you think will serve four could end up being barely enough for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was delicious!!! I grow vegetables on the deck outside of my apartment and I have one okra plant (these plants grow Tall!, mine is over my head, I'm 5'4", soon I will need a ladder to pick it:). Since there is only one of me, the one plant provides enough okra so that I need to prepare something every 4 days or so. I always loved it stewed with tomatoes and onions, but I am afraid your recipe has won me over. Love the intense flavor the roasting gives it and you are right, it is less "wet":)I did use my combo of tomatoes and onions, but roasted them along with the okra...awesome! I sliced my okra, made thick slices of onion, and halved a small tomato, sprinkled with choppped fresh basil (from my deck garden also), drizzled all with olive oil, seasoned them with Old Bay and just a touch of salt and pepper. I put a shaving of fresh parmesan on my tomato and baked it as directed. Absolutely awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is so simple and easy. Folks that usually don't like okra rave about it. I cut the okra into thirds and then toss and roast. Can be done in toaster oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is an excellent way to prepare okra. I just recently roasted okra to help my mom with favorite foods as she is a diabetic. I roasted mine longer than the recipe calls for to dry it out and then continued to roast until it was crisp, propably 40 minutes total. I had a complete bread pan full and when I took it up it looked and tasted like fried okra, it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jypseygal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My family loves okra, as long as its not slimy. We eat it steamed (whole), fried or pickled. This recipe is the best okra recipe I have ever used. I don't believe I'll ever cook okra any other way. In addition to the okra, I included sliced fresh mushrooms and sliced white onions and used habanero infused olive oil. The amount of salt called for in the recipe is way too much for the amount of okra listed, but that is a personal preference. I mixed everything together in a large bowl then emptied it all on to a foil lined baking sheet and roasted as directed. It had the best texture and flavor and NO slime. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Excellent! Thank you so much for sharing with us this simple way of preparing okra! I was looking for a way to fix some wonderful okra I had just purchased from the farmer's market and this was exactly the way I like to prepare many veggies, but I never would have thought of for okra. As many reviewers have already stated, it took the "sliminess" out of it and crisped it up. Do not hesitate to try this ridiculously simple recipe!! Thank you again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I'm a fried okra lover so wasn't sure I'd like this healthy version. But I LOVED it!! This is my new go-to recipe for okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCLadyA
Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
So good! All the flavor of fried okra without the deep fried aspect. I put EVOO in a bowl and dumped in the sliced okra and sprinkled with seasoned salt. Hand tossed and baked for 20 minutes on a cookie sheet that I lined with foil and sprayed with Pam. Easy clean up. Yummmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
we love the clean okra flavor that is usually somewhat covered by breading. Big fan of baking versus frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States