Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was delicious!!! I grow vegetables on the deck outside of my apartment and I have one okra plant (these plants grow Tall!, mine is over my head, I'm 5'4", soon I will need a ladder to pick it:). Since there is only one of me, the one plant provides enough okra so that I need to prepare something every 4 days or so. I always loved it stewed with tomatoes and onions, but I am afraid your recipe has won me over. Love the intense flavor the roasting gives it and you are right, it is less "wet":)I did use my combo of tomatoes and onions, but roasted them along with the okra...awesome! I sliced my okra, made thick slices of onion, and halved a small tomato, sprinkled with choppped fresh basil (from my deck garden also), drizzled all with olive oil, seasoned them with Old Bay and just a touch of salt and pepper. I put a shaving of fresh parmesan on my tomato and baked it as directed. Absolutely awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is so simple and easy. Folks that usually don't like okra rave about it. I cut the okra into thirds and then toss and roast. Can be done in toaster oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
My fried okra loving family loved this way even more! Really brings out the flavor of fresh okra and is healthier without the breading. Roasted it along with some catfish filets in a foil line baking dish....Easy, easy...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Simple, yet classic. It's really not that much different than fried okra, but with a lot less guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Throw in a little garlic salt and mmm mmm! AWESOME healthier alternative to frying in batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was wonderful! I've got an abundance of okra & was looking for something different--this fit the bill perfectly! (I cheated & used olive oil spray.) It's delicious, quick & has a fantastic (non-slimy) texture. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
As is it's great! I love this healtier version and you can deffinately play around with it! We tried it just now, and I will make this tomorrow; I might sprinkle some breading on top and cheat a little. We have an electric oven and cooked it for 16 min, I will cook it even longer (without breading) since I like it quite crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Perfect! This is the best way to eat okra!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
this is a great recipe! we were looking for something different to do with okra and this was perfect and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie820

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is as good as french fries. We even used ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States