Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Using okra not more than a little bigger than your pinky finger is usual size - at least in the South. Apparently, this recipe goes for bigger, which is fine; but remember to use less spices if yours are little. I prefer measurement. I had almost four cups cut okra so doubled the spice amounts. Too much by far. Yeah, I ate it; but I'll use try four cups with two teaspoons each next time. 'Could try it halfway done to add more. I roasted mine for more than a half hour & it was good. Definately fried tasting. 'Nice getting away from the usual boiled. Hate those slimy pots! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very easy recipe! I use butter instead of oil for an extra rich flavor. I melt the butter in a saucepan and add 1 tsp salt and some Indian spices (or any seasoning/spice I feel like). Then I pour the butter mixture over the okra and mix it all together and pour onto baking dish and bake as directed. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Used another reviewer's suggestion and replaced salt and pepper with seasoning salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Cannot stop eating this - addictive, just like potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Roasting okra, who would have guessed?! I used a LOT less salt and pepper than called for - about 1/2-3/4 tsp each for 30 okra pods - and I used hickory smoked sea salt instead of plain salt. The hickory smoke flavor was beautiful with the okra. Thanks for sharing this technique! I'll be using it again and again while okra is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I ate the whole batch by myself and wished I had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
All I need to say is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
After reading a few reviews, I pretty much stuck with the original recipe. Sliced the fresh okra, put them in a bowl with some EVOO, laid out in one layer on foil-lined pan (for easy clean-up), sprinkled with creole seasoning and baked for 16 minutes at 425 degrees. Was darn tasty, but may cook it a bit longer next time for some crunchiness. My husband and teenage son both liked it. That's a good thing, because our okra plants are producing like crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I never thought of eating okra this way, but its so much healthier and its still tasty like fried okra. I would highly recommend this to anyone, especially the health conscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
loved it. kids like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States