Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Who knew Okra could be so good! I've made this a handful of times and it comes out great every time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I loved this! I love okra, but can't eat fried foods. What a delicious alternative for okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I love to make okra like this - it is like fried without the guilt. It shouldn't be slimy if you cook it at 425 until it starts to brown. You can add some minced garlic if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Simply delicious. I couldn't imagine a better way to eat okra as I grew up in the country and okra always seemed to come fried... I much prefer baked and I love the simplicity and the wonderful texture and flavors. I love it as is, but if you want to treat it like a baked "okra fry" of sorts, it is great dipped in honey mustard as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I roast fresh asparagus using these same ingredients all the time, but never thought of roasting okra. Tried it and it was great, not mention easy, low slime :) and easy clean-up! I did add some sliced vidalia onions, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes to the mix which made it better IMO. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Very yummy and easy. I doubled the cook time and thought it came out great. Not slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was really good! My husband and I both liked the fact that the okra was not slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a simple, quick, and delicious side dish for any dinner. The roasting gives it a nice texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
this was very good; did have to use frozen okra though. added a little garlic/onion powders. will make again. thanks for the post ncope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe a couple times in an attempt to introduce fruits & veggies that our household does not typically eat. I have found a few must haves by doing this but sadly, this will not be one of those foods/recipes for us. I read reviews about fresh okra being slimy so I followed some reviewers suggestions to minimize the slime. I'm not sure it worked. I found the longer I baked them & turned them, the less slimy the okra was. In the end I enjoyed the flavor "in small doses" but not sure I'll go thru the work of making again. I did introduce this to friends & their kids who were reluctant to try it. Ultimately they gave it a try & they too, were not crazy about it. (I was careful to not let them see the slime as I knew they would never try it). One did say it tasted just like fried okra, even though I baked it and did not bread it like you find in stores. ...To each his own. It was worth trying anyway! I suppose if you grew up eating okra & loving it this will be a fantastic recipe. It's just not for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States