Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I have been roasting okra for years and it is awesome! Since it is not readily available in the stores year round, I do the same cooking method with frozen cut okra. Just drain it in a colander and squeeze out the water and some of the slime. It works great! I also cook the whole pods this way when they are available fresh. I put my okra pods in a plastic bag and put in a few tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper, and squish around to coat, then put on baking sheet. My husband and I are from Texas and we love okra, so we have it cooked this way once or twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I love okra and I love this recipe--so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My whole family really enjoyed these. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and soaked the okra in water and lime juice I didn't notice that it helped much but I also don't mind the sliminess of okra. Other than the water and lime I made as the recipes calls for. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIS_2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Just finished making this recipe. I never cooked okra before and I have to say YUMMMM! It was not slimy AT ALL. I bit spicy with the pepper, but I'm gonna make it again. Not only tasty, but easy. Nice job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is the only way to eat okra and so easy to prepare! I combine my okra with: sliced onion, garlic pieces, halved cherry tomatoes & mushrooms. Toss these in the olive oil, s & p...AWESOME!! Havin' some tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I baked them whole and they were great, just picked them up and ate. I didn't have a problem with slime at all. Next time, I'll use just a dash less of black pepper, it seemed to take away from the taste of the okra. I also used garlic salt for the reg salt. Next time, I'll try them sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was alright, but not great. I will try okra again, but in a different recipe. It was pretty tasteless and chewy, which was not what I expected. Thanks for the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Was very chewy and woody, could not eat prepared this way. Maybe I had some over ripe okra, but didn't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Delicious and not slimy at all! It does shrink when cooking, so a pound of fresh okra made just enough for 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
It was okay. A little too dry and bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States