Roasted Mushroom and Sunchoke Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made this tonight and it IA wonderful...did a few changes...red wine in the broth, the mushroom broth had some Asian mushroom sauce in it added a small Chile that baked with the boletus mushrooms (wild crafted). Used real butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Gepford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed as written (olive oil vs vegan margarine). This was so amazingly delicious that i ate three lunches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I bought Jerusalem artichokes from a local supplier without any knowledge about the taste of them or how to cook them. This soup looked tasty and I had everything I needed on hand. The only thing I changed was omitting the water by 1 cup and increasing the milk by 1 cup. I also used regular 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Yes, I tried this today. I used olive oil instead of fake margarine. I was out of it. I used more potatoes, due to not having enough artichokes. Its delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Well I adapted this a bit and it was great. I didn't have enough sunchokes so I put in white asparagus in addition to make up the difference. I put them in the oven with the mushrooms. This was fantastic! Tasted like a wild mushroom soup. I poured in a little whipping cream at the end in the bowl to give it a swirl like in the picture. I didn't want to add it to the soup because then there is something in it that can spoil and I plan to freeze some. Will definitely be using this technique again. I thought it would be a little bland with the addition of straight water but the roasted veggies turned it into a broth of its own almost immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Couldn't find Jerusalem artichokes so I used parsnips instead and added shitake mushrooms as well=awesome. I also de-veganized it and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've got to give this 5 stars. Really delicious. These days, I rarely try recipes with so few ratings, and I'm so glad I did this time! What fabulous flavor. What a perfect combination of ingredients. I did find that after simmering and blending, there wasn't enough liquid for the proper consistency. I just added milk until it looked right. Other than that, follow the recipe, though. The recipe is dead on. Thanks, "smallu."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Excellent. I used 16 oz mushroom and veggie stock instead of mushroom stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This turned out very well. I liked it well enough, boyfriend LOVED it, everyone else seemed to like it. I used small crimini button mushrooms. I also replaced the vegan margarine with unsalted butter, used a Walla Walla sweet onion, and vegetable broth in place of the mushroom broth. I didn't stir any milk into the soup, but I drizzled heavy cream on top of it for decoration and garnished each bowl with a single fresh sage leaf. If you love sage, sunchokes, or mushrooms, you will love this bisque. It's worth the prep and worth a try! Note: I found Jerusalem artichokes at my local Safeway, they were labeled as "Sunflower Chokes," and were sold in the produce section in 1 lb packages. Update: To be a true bisque, add the milk. It also cuts the intensity of the flavor and creates a rich creaminess which is nice. Also, bisques are traditionally served in mugs or double-handled bowls on saucers :) Oh, and this recipe makes more than 6 main dish servings, more like 8, maybe even more (you're not meant to eat a huge bowl of this type of soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was totally delicious and well worth the prep time. I used baby bella mushrooms and olive oil instead of the vegan marg to saute the onion. Did not need/use soy milk at the end. What a unique and flavorful soup! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States