Roasted Mushroom and Sunchoke Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made this tonight and it IA wonderful...did a few changes...red wine in the broth, the mushroom broth had some Asian mushroom sauce in it added a small Chile that baked with the boletus mushrooms (wild crafted). Used real butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Gepford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed as written (olive oil vs vegan margarine). This was so amazingly delicious that i ate three lunches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I bought Jerusalem artichokes from a local supplier without any knowledge about the taste of them or how to cook them. This soup looked tasty and I had everything I needed on hand. The only thing I changed was omitting the water by 1 cup and increasing the milk by 1 cup. I also used regular 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Yes, I tried this today. I used olive oil instead of fake margarine. I was out of it. I used more potatoes, due to not having enough artichokes. Its delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Well I adapted this a bit and it was great. I didn't have enough sunchokes so I put in white asparagus in addition to make up the difference. I put them in the oven with the mushrooms. This was fantastic! Tasted like a wild mushroom soup. I poured in a little whipping cream at the end in the bowl to give it a swirl like in the picture. I didn't want to add it to the soup because then there is something in it that can spoil and I plan to freeze some. Will definitely be using this technique again. I thought it would be a little bland with the addition of straight water but the roasted veggies turned it into a broth of its own almost immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Couldn't find Jerusalem artichokes so I used parsnips instead and added shitake mushrooms as well=awesome. I also de-veganized it and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I've got to give this 5 stars. Really delicious. These days, I rarely try recipes with so few ratings, and I'm so glad I did this time! What fabulous flavor. What a perfect combination of ingredients. I did find that after simmering and blending, there wasn't enough liquid for the proper consistency. I just added milk until it looked right. Other than that, follow the recipe, though. The recipe is dead on. Thanks, "smallu."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Excellent. I used 16 oz mushroom and veggie stock instead of mushroom stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This turned out very well. I liked it well enough, boyfriend LOVED it, everyone else seemed to like it. I used small crimini button mushrooms. I also replaced the vegan margarine with unsalted butter, used a Walla Walla sweet onion, and vegetable broth in place of the mushroom broth. I didn't stir any milk into the soup, but I drizzled heavy cream on top of it for decoration and garnished each bowl with a single fresh sage leaf. If you love sage, sunchokes, or mushrooms, you will love this bisque. It's worth the prep and worth a try! Note: I found Jerusalem artichokes at my local Safeway, they were labeled as "Sunflower Chokes," and were sold in the produce section in 1 lb packages. Update: To be a true bisque, add the milk. It also cuts the intensity of the flavor and creates a rich creaminess which is nice. Also, bisques are traditionally served in mugs or double-handled bowls on saucers :) Oh, and this recipe makes more than 6 main dish servings, more like 8, maybe even more (you're not meant to eat a huge bowl of this type of soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was totally delicious and well worth the prep time. I used baby bella mushrooms and olive oil instead of the vegan marg to saute the onion. Did not need/use soy milk at the end. What a unique and flavorful soup! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States