Roasted Loin of Pork with Pan Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe sounded like it would be great, so I gave it a try. Way too much spice for me.Seasonings are meant to complement the meat,but even after using half the recommended amount of cayenne all the seasonings overpowered the pork. I would reduce the cayenne to 1/8 teaspoon and reduce the black pepper and oregano to 1/8-1/4tsp. Also add more butter or a couple of tablespoons of EVOO.I also mix the flour into cold water or broth then add to the simmering drippings. I would add 1/4 tsp gravy master and 1T dry minced onion to the gravy and simmer to thicken/reduce and then strain.I like spicey but I also like to taste the flavor of the meat. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Loved this recipe! I was serving it to little ones so left out the cayenne pepper. For veggies I used ones that I had sliced in the food processor and froze so they were really thin. This worked out great because when I made gravy I could incorporate them into the gravy and my picky kiddos had no idea they were eating veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was delicious! Again, I read a recipe all the way through before I make it so I knew I wanted to leave out the cayenne. This is no reflection on the original, I just wasn't feeling it tonight. Other than that, I made it as directed. I served it with roasted potatoes, carrots, and broccoli. Solid recipe. Thanks, Lil Snoo! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I just made this for dinner, and my family have all had seconds! Made this with garlic mashed potatoes, and they are raving about how wonderful it all is. The gravy went so nicely with the potatoes! The pork is tender and so flavorful, very easy to make and dang-near foolproof. I will be adding this to our family favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by robert
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Found pork loin for $1.50 lb and found this recipe. That was delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this tonight, and it was fantastic! My only problem was, I didn't cover while it cooked so the drippings were very little. The gravy that it did make, was very very good, just not enough! The pork was juicy and delicious and my hubby loved it! Thanks for the recipe LilSnoo! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I had to drastically reduce the cooking time, and it was still tough, but the flavor was OK. Nothing special. Definitely needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We absolutely LOVED this! I brined my roast first then applied the rub per instructions and let it sit overnight in the fridge. It is a little spicy, which we thought was great, but you might cut down on the cayenne if that's not your thing. The gravy was SO delicious! This recipe is absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I adapted this recipe for use in the pressure cooker. The technique variations I used are as follows. 1. Brown the loin on all sides in cooker 2. Followed steps 2 & 3 exactly 3. Add 1 cup stock and bring cooker to 15psi for 50 minutes. Allow natural release of pressure 4. Followed steps 5 & 6 exactly Taste was excellent! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have little ones so I dropped the cayenne. I'm the king of gravy and this took me to a whole new level. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States