Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Typically, I don't roast chicken this way and wanted to try something different. I found the taste to be fine, but bland, and I really didn't like all the lemon when I tried to make gravy with the drippings. It would probably be a great marinade for grilling. My family liked it, especially the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe as written. The cooking time was off for me. My chicken was a little over 3 lbs but, even at that I cooked this chicken for 2 hrs. 10 min. and the thigh area was a little pink. I kept checking at this point until the juices ran clear and there was no sign of pink meat. After letting the chicken sit for awhile I could not believe how tender and juicy it was when I was carving. I pulled the skin up and rubbed in the seasonings along the breast before cooking. The smell in my kitchen during the cooking time was amazing. Can't wait to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
OMG... outstanding! I put herbs and olive oil under skin like previous reviews suggested. It was super moist. I served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
added some potatoes in the mix for an extra 20-30 mins...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I just tried this recipe today. I read the other reviews and I am glad I followed what everyone said about doubling the seasonings. But I only gave it 4 stars because though I only used on lemon, it came out too lemony for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The only thing I changed with the recipe is that I put the lemon - olive oil mixture on the chicken first prior to the herb mixture and I used regular salt instead of season salt. The chicken I used only needed about 1 hr 20 minutes in the oven. Excellent, the best roasted chicken I have made to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Why do so many people put everything on and under the breast and then turn it over? One even put seasoned butter on the breast and turned it over. Doesn't it all just run all over the bottom of the pan when done like that? I don't get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found that if you rub the lemon under the skin, and then rub the herbs on it works better. I also put some lemon slices inside the bird. I then use the oil on the outside skin. I also put a small onion, and a cut up carrot and a celery stalk inside also. This is extra yummy. I also use the carcass meat for chicken and noodle soup, and it is divine. Just boil the meat off the bones, remove the bones, and make the soup. We love this. Cooking time varies with the size of the bird. I use a thermomenter and aim for 185°F in the thickest part of the thigh next to the breast, or better yet, get a pop-up timer for chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
super dinner! mixed all spices with lemon juice and oil (doubled the ingredients) rubbed all over and inside of 2 chickens, then peeled two lemons and stuck them inside the chickens and put them on my Ron Propel Rotisserie.(remember, "just set it and forget it") they got golden brown and a little crusty while the lemon rolled around inside dripping the lemon juice. it was so moist and tastey. served with mashed sweet potatoes and a glass of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Those who said the chicken took a lot longer to cook are those who stuffed the chicken with lemon and/or onion. Of course it's going to take longer! Just like roasting a turkey--stuffed or unstuffed require different cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States