Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good flavor and really moist from the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
good and easy recipe. even my picky sister had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fixed this for the family last night and they loved it. I did add the oil/lemon mixture to the bird first and then put on the seasonings. I had a 5lb chicken so took a little longer to cook. I also put potatoes and carrots in the pan and cooked it all together. Everyone had seconds and cleaned their plates. Will be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I roast a chicken every Sunday and the best, most flavorful and easiest way I've found is to first rub the whole chicken with salt and pepper (under the skin and inside included) and then with prepared pesto and lemon juice. I use about 1/2 cup pesto and 6Tbs lemon juice for a 5lb bird. I roast at 350 until the bird is 165 degrees. I use the leftovers all week in pastas, and salad. the chicken stays extremely moist from the olive oil and the basil gives the chicken a sweet and mild flavor and the citrus gives a really nice freshness and also helps to tenderize the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I had never baked a whole chicken before and this recipe is GREAT! Easy to follow and tastes wonderful. The flavor allows you to use the leftovers in other dishes like chicken salad or chicken with biscuits and gravy. I used far less lemon because I am not as big a lemon fan for chicken and it was still wonderful. I cooked my five pound chicken in a roasting pan at 400 degrees F and covered in foil for an hour and a half and then removed the foil and baked 10 minutes to make the skin golden brown. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
With my few changes, 5 stars! I used a 6 lb. roasting chicken which took 2.5 hours at 325 in a high-sided large aluminum pan. I doubled and mixed all the seasonings together using my own herbs for the Italian seasoning. I added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice and no olive oil. Instead, I mixed it all up in a 1/4 cup of melted butter and refrigerated until the butter was fairly solid. I lifted the skin of the chicken and applied the chilled and seasoned butterbits directly to the meat, saving some for the skin. After rubbing the rest of the butter into the skin, I also sprinkled on more garlic powder, salt and pepper. The only thing I used inside the chicken was half of an onion, 4 chopped garlic cloves and the lemon skins. Baked breast side down and tented with foil in 1/2 cup of broth for an hour at 325; the second hour I turned the chicken over and placed baby red potatoes around the chicken with no foil tent. I did not need more broth, but you should add some to keep the taters moist if needed. Check often, don't let it dry out! The last half hour I poured off most of the broth, turned the oven up to 400 so the skin of chicken and potatoes would crisp a little. Very Very good! You know it is done when you can practically tear off the legs and the juices are clear. If you are starved, the wings get done early, rip em off and have a taste-test! Thanks Barbzal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love how zesty and juicy this came out. I used the recipe on boneless breast instead, but I will definately be making it with whole chickens when I have a bigger crowd to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This chicken was fantastic-not too lemony. I also rubbed the mixture under the skin and took someone else's advice and put half a lemon into the cavity. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Super lemony. Moist but super lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States