Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
This chicken was great! I mixed all of the spices, olive oil and lemmon juice and rubbed it under the skin of the chicken and then over the top of the skin and poured the remainder in the cavity. I put about 3/4 cup water in the bottom of the pan and baked the chicken upsidedown with the breasts in the juices. I covered the whole thing in foil and in 2 hours the flavorful meat was falling off the bones. My company raved and everyone ate way too much. Served with baked apples, green beans and fresh bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Without a doubt, one of the best chicken recipes I've found on this site to date. I just mixed all of the seasonings with the oil (doubled for a 5 lb. chicken) and brushed over the chicken. Stuffed the cavity with the spent lemons, a quartered onion and a few cloves of garlic. In the end, I added a few Tbsp. Wondra flour to the drippings to come up with a delicious lemon-herb gravy. This recipe is a true find... thanks so much, Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Very good. I used boneless, skinless breasts; dumped on all the olive oil and lemon juice then sprinkled both sides with the herb blend. Tasty and tender. Baked at 350 for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
The only problem I had with this recipe is the specified cook time. Be prepared to cook the chicken at 325 degrees for around 2hrs - 2hrs 15min. At a little under 1.5hrs the meat was still very pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
i read somewhere on this site in the cooking tips section that brining the chicken would add extra flavor so it really worked. those who found it bland may want to try that. i left out the seasoned salt, brushed on the lemon juice/olive oil mixture first then rubbed on the seasonings. stuffed the inside with lemon wedges as suggested and added a bunch of garlic cloves too. even using a smaller chicken took way more than a half hour, more like an hour and a half. used a roasting pan and left the lid off for the last half hour to crisp the skin a bit. next time will use more of the season mixture, it was almost the best part of the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Fabulous! I did rub under the skin (we don't eat the skin) and added a quartered onion, 5 cloves of garlic and the lemon rind inside the body cavity while cooking. This chicken came out perfect and everyone LOVED it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
lovely, lovely, chicken! I made my own herb concoction too, using herbs de provence, dill, rosemary, tarragon, italian herbs, and essence of emeril. i also stuffed the cavity with the squeezed lemon skins, and baked a 5.5 1b chicken at 350 for about 2 hours. It was moist, lemony, and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This recipe gets five stars the first night & three the next. I got a Perdue (big) chicken so doubled the ingredients. If you double it, don't double the oil. It was very oily. I used 1/2cup lemon juice for the juice of 2 lemons & coarse ground black pepper. I also let the remaining (after rubbing some inside) dried spices sit in the lemon juice to rehydrate then whisked in the oil & used a pastry brush to apply it. It smelled great & tasted good. I wish I could have eaten more the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
With my few changes, 5 stars! I used a 6 lb. roasting chicken which took 2.5 hours at 325 in a high-sided large aluminum pan. I doubled and mixed all the seasonings together using my own herbs for the Italian seasoning. I added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice and no olive oil. Instead, I mixed it all up in a 1/4 cup of melted butter and refrigerated until the butter was fairly solid. I lifted the skin of the chicken and applied the chilled and seasoned butterbits directly to the meat, saving some for the skin. After rubbing the rest of the butter into the skin, I also sprinkled on more garlic powder, salt and pepper. The only thing I used inside the chicken was half of an onion, 4 chopped garlic cloves and the lemon skins. Baked breast side down and tented with foil in 1/2 cup of broth for an hour at 325; the second hour I turned the chicken over and placed baby red potatoes around the chicken with no foil tent. I did not need more broth, but you should add some to keep the taters moist if needed. Check often, don't let it dry out! The last half hour I poured off most of the broth, turned the oven up to 400 so the skin of chicken and potatoes would crisp a little. Very Very good! You know it is done when you can practically tear off the legs and the juices are clear. If you are starved, the wings get done early, rip em off and have a taste-test! Thanks Barbzal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is an easy recipe and the chicken is great. Although I recommend making an extra portion of the oil/juice mixture for basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States