Roasted Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The whole family loved this! I loved the lemon flavor with the herbs and spices. My daughter helped with the spices and was a little heavy-handed with the onion powder, but it was delicous anyway. We didn't discard the skin (that's the best part!) and it was so delicious! The meat was super tender and juicy. I roasted at 350 for about an hour and a half. The juices in the bottom of the pan were great for drizzling over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This is the best recipe for a chicken roaster I have ever tried! It is absolutely delicious. I tried it with a 17 lb turkey as well - everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Another 5 star review! This was so delicious and tender, the meat just fell right off the bone. The store only had 5+ pound chickens, so I doubled the seasoning. I also puts a few pats of butter under the breast skin, and did everything else as the recipe suggested. I roasted on a roasting rack/pan for about 3 hours since it was so much larger. My boyfriend insisted this was the best roasted chicken he has ever had. Really easy prep and fantastic results - I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Tasted great, loved the lemon! Followed recipe- except - I like to slow cook whole chickens at 250 degrees for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Being that we were going to be way too busy doing last minute errands and packing up the car tonight, I decided to make this chicken this afternoon. Big mistake! I couldn't stop nibbling on it! I normally stay clear of the skin, but again, it was too darn good to pass up. I used a whole lemon and the flavor, even on the skin was amazing! The lemon didn't overwhelm the gravy, just gave it a subtle flavor. Can't wait to do this with regular chicken pieces. Thanks so much Margaret!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is the best (and easiest) whole chicken recipe I've ever used. My husband (the picky eater) says this is a definate keeper. Bonus-the leftovers make wonderful chicken salad sandwichs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandgate, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is the best roasted chicken I've ever had, and I'm not usually a huge fan of roasted chicken. I couldn't stop picking at it before dinner-time! The leftovers are delicious warmed up over salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
You can always get a good deal on whole fryers at the market and this recipe is a simple and delicious way to prepare them. I followed the recipe exactly and cook the chicken for 20 minutes per pound. You can use more or less lemon to suit your tastes. We use the bones and scraps to make homemade chicken noodle soup the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was fabulous! I didn't have any rosemary or thyme, so I subbed some mixed Italian spices for those. I also cut up a few slices of butter and placed them under the skin. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes and a ham & split pea salad. Totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was fantastic! My whole family loved it. I used the meat and bones to make homemade chicken soup with homemade stock, and the rosemary/lemon flavor was even evident in the soup. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States