Roasted Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I chose this recipe not only because I had in mind something with lemon and rosemary, but also because I liked the roasting temperature of 375 degrees, sort of midway between the low and high heat roasting methods. I couldn't have asked for a more perfectly cooked, perfectly flavored roasted chicken. With slight modifications I followed the recipe closely. To help with browning and to create juices for a pan gravy, I rubbed the chicken, inside and out and under the skin with butter before seasoning. Rather than using the individual herbs and spices I simply used "Chicken Seasoning Blend," recipe also from this site. (Good stuff to have on hand, by the way) I had a 4-pound chicken that was perfectly roasted in an hour and a half. What a beauty that bird was when I pulled it out of the oven! The meat was tender and juicy, subtley infused with the rosemary and lemon - really great flavor. I served this with "Herbed Lemon Orzo" and "Bertolli Classico Asparagus Saute," both also AR recipes. I wouldn't hesitate to use this recipe again. I know it will be consistently dependable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is the best roasted chicken I've ever had, and I'm not usually a huge fan of roasted chicken. I couldn't stop picking at it before dinner-time! The leftovers are delicious warmed up over salad greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I wanted to keep the chicken from scorching on the bottom so I layered one small onion in the bottom of the pan, then laid the chicken over the top. I did add a little liquid, a good couple splashes of white wine. I didn't measure the spices, I was quite liberal with them. The chicken was wonderful. There's only a small amount leftover for chicken sandwiches for lunches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Being that we were going to be way too busy doing last minute errands and packing up the car tonight, I decided to make this chicken this afternoon. Big mistake! I couldn't stop nibbling on it! I normally stay clear of the skin, but again, it was too darn good to pass up. I used a whole lemon and the flavor, even on the skin was amazing! The lemon didn't overwhelm the gravy, just gave it a subtle flavor. Can't wait to do this with regular chicken pieces. Thanks so much Margaret!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Tasted great, loved the lemon! Followed recipe- except - I like to slow cook whole chickens at 250 degrees for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, extremely simple to execute and it makes your house smell amazing when it cooks! The combo of the lemon, rosemary and thyme is perfect. I had a small fryer (almost 3 lbs) and it cooked in about an hour and 20 minutes, then let it rest for 15 min before slicing up. Hubs enjoyed it too, even if he isn't that fond of rosemary :) Served with garlic roasted mini red potatoes, steamed asparagus and a cucumber/radish salad (AR-Easy Cucumber Salad). I will most definitely make this again, there is enough meat left over for me to make a couple servings of soup now that the cooler temps are here. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was delicious! I used chili powder because I didn't have seasoned salt and it was still wonderful. The amount of lemon was perfect and wasn't overpowering, but added a good tang. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
You can always get a good deal on whole fryers at the market and this recipe is a simple and delicious way to prepare them. I followed the recipe exactly and cook the chicken for 20 minutes per pound. You can use more or less lemon to suit your tastes. We use the bones and scraps to make homemade chicken noodle soup the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was fantastic! My whole family loved it. I used the meat and bones to make homemade chicken soup with homemade stock, and the rosemary/lemon flavor was even evident in the soup. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The whole family loved this! I loved the lemon flavor with the herbs and spices. My daughter helped with the spices and was a little heavy-handed with the onion powder, but it was delicous anyway. We didn't discard the skin (that's the best part!) and it was so delicious! The meat was super tender and juicy. I roasted at 350 for about an hour and a half. The juices in the bottom of the pan were great for drizzling over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States