Roasted Lamb with Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I prepared this for supper last night and my husband and I loved it, it is a definite keeper. I enjoy trying new recipes that contain winter vegies and I couldn't have been more pleased with this. The flavors of the rub meld so wonderfully together and had a nice little bite to it. I will definitely be making this one for the extended family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This tasted really good, but I cut the root vegetables too large and they remained firm after I roasted them. I made the following changes: I marinated the lamb leg for 4 hours before roasting, I poured the excess marinade into the root vegetables and mixed them until they were all coated. I left the lamb in a bit longer with the oven off, it was medium done and more rare on the bottom. Next time I would try putting the leg on its own baking dish half-way through and covering the vegetables with a lid so that they would soften. I would also cut the vegetables into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We are military family and live in Germany and could not get a leg of lamb, so I substituted a 4lb Ribeye Roast. Allowed the roast to marinate while I boiled the vegetables for 20 minutes, added an extra sweet potato, (no yams or white potatoes in the house at the moment). Only put in 2 parsnips but added 2 cups of brussel sprouts to give it color. Also added an onion when boiling to add flavor and topped off with some mushrooms as I was putting it into the oven. Everyone thought it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saj Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Served for husband's 45th birthday dinner. Tasty and different. Served with Flathead Cherry Compote and Strawberry Blue Cheese Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by Shamapes
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Root vegies don't have much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
made this yesterday and it was the best lamb I've ever eaten. the roast was sooo tender. I mixed the leftover rub into the veggies in the roaster since I was afraid there wouldnt be enough flavour on them. I made several small changes to the recipe; I used .5 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than the red pepper flakes (.33 would have been plenty), I used dry rosemary since I couldnt get any fresh, I cut the veggies into cubes rather than wedges, I reduced the heat from 400 after 20 minutes to 350 and stirred every 25 minutes or so, and I let it sit for 10 minutes at the end. I was delighted with the outcome! I'll definately be cooking this again! Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Have made this twice now and love it. There's never any lamb leftover. Great flavor with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This turned out absolutely perfect. We had a fairly small roast, so I was glad I didn't wait the full 90 minutes, but went by the meat thermometer. Plus, I had drizzled the extra rub on the veggies before putting it all in the oven and it was sooo good. None leftover, I'm afraid. Next time we'll have to get a bigger roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Roasted Lamb Breast

See how to make a lamb dish that’s similar to pork belly or spare ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States