Roasted Jerusalem Artichokes (or Sunchokes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Very simple and very tasty. I followed the recipe except for the amount of olive oil - I used about 2-3 Tablespoons per pound of sunchokes. They roasted in about 45 minutes along with a handful of fresh thyme sprigs and garlic, and we ate them all in one sitting. My children thought they were awesome, so thank you so much for providing a great recipe for an under-appreciated vegetable. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was my first time making sunchokes and I have been really happy with this recipe: a very yummy side dish tasting like sweet artichokes and roasted potatoes. Since I like fresh herbs, I simply tossed the sunchokes in little olive oil, salt and pepper and then sprinkled fresh lemon thyme all over just prior serving which added a nice lemony tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I ate nearly a pound of these roasted for dinner one night, so tasty! Then, four hours later my body violently rejected them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Is it possible to go wrong with thyme, garlic, salt, and olive oil? If so, I don't know about it yet. I would say, though, that 3/4 c. olive oil is way too much, both in terms of budget and calories! I actually doubled the recipe, and I found that 3 tbsp of olive oil was 100% perfect for the two pounds of Jerusalem artichokes. I also added a few dashes of pepper and reduced the amount of thyme just a bit as well, but all in all, this is delishe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I roast sun chokes along with other veggies like onions, bell peppers, cauliflower, and zucchini. The recipe calls for way too much oil... just use enough oil to coat then add whatever herbs you like and a little salt and pepper. I usually roast at 400ºF for about 40-50 minutes, stirring around about half way through. Delicious, nutritious, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe ! I love sunchokes but most recipes call for it peeled and in a creamy soup, so it's nice to have a quick recipe that's a healthier option. Only thing I changed was adding some fresh rosemary from my garden with the thyme. Side note - you might want to take some Beano before indulging in these -- sunchokes can make you more "musical" than beans!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was my first time making sunchokes. They came in my weekly produce delivery and I was looking for a simple way to make them. Well this recipe is simple and delicious! You do not need 3/4c of oil. I probably used the equivalent of 2 -3 tbsp and I can't imagine using any more. Great flavor and perfectly cooked after 35 mins. I'll be making it a point to buy these more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cathy1958
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These were great. First time we've tried Jerusalem Artichokes. We just washed and halved them and cut the eyes off as suggested. No need to use 3/4 cup of oil, a few tablespoons did the trick. Just enough to make the herbs stick. Don't overoast, just till they are tender. Delicious and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was the first time we had sunchokes. I highly recommend them. They were like a nice sweet tasting potato. But not like a sweet potato. However, too much olive oil called for here. They really only get coated and a couple of tablespoons will do that. They also took more like an hour and a bit. We used fresh thyme because we had it. I will do this again but not that much EVOO. 3 stars for the idea but sorry, the measurements and time were very off in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I saw sunchokes in my local farmers market and decided to be adventurous so of course I came to allrecipes to find out how to make them! This recipe was very simple and the results were yummy! My only modification was to spray the sunchoke slices with olive oil (using my misto) and toss with the herbs since we're trying to eat healthier. Can't say I missed the extra oil so I will continue to make the sunchokes this way and will definitely experiment with different herbs in the future (garlic and rosemary are next)! Thanks qwertycook for a simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States