Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
We got some roasted chiles from the Denver flea market. Looked for a recipe to use them in. This one was highly rated, and I now know why. Very good recipe. Made the recipe with only one change, used the chicken we had instead of pork. The three of us finished off the entire 6 serving recipe. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile CO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Delicious. If your dish is too spicy it is because you can buy at least 4 different hot levels of hatch chilies. Just got back from Denver and bought 5 bushels, but mostly mild because they have a great flavor without all the heat. Now I just need more recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I'm giving this five stars because it ROCKED. The recipe was REALLY flavorful and easy to put together. I had never had this dish before, but made it for friends that have and they raved about it. They had only had it with beef, but said they preferred it with the pork. I did not have vegetable broth, but substituted with vegetable bouillon and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I loved this although I didn't have all the ingredients so, it's not exactly the same. I used a slow cooker, 3lbs of pork and chicken stock. I didn't have or use the tomatoes, potatoes, or the serrano chiles. I also took a blender full of sauce out and pureed it and put it back into the pot. I also stirred in some cornstarch to thicken. I served this over cheese enchiladas. So, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I think this recipe has potential but I used about half the chiles called for (I roasted fresh aneheims)and it was way too spicy. I tried adding more broth to dilute it but it just turned it into soup. The flavor however was really good. This recipe as is would make a good sauce for any mexican/southwestern meal but on it's own it's almost inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Photo by jessy435
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I'm making this now for the 3rd time - it's just awesome. I bought roasted/peeled/chopped/frozen hot Hatch chili's at Sunflower Market - comes in a 2lb bag (about $6) so I'm hoping they work - I've used up all the fresh roasted ones I bought at a roadside stand here in Denver. Also bought for about $6, a 4lb tray of cubed pork from King Soopers (I freeze half for next time).--- Towards the end of cooking, I used a potato masher and mushed it just a little in the pot to make it a bit thicker - seems just the potatoes get smashed which is perfect. Serve with a splop of sour cream and it is just lovely - perfect for a winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessy435

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
WOW! The best green chile stew ever! Thanks! I did substitute Hatch frozen Hot Green Chile, but all you really need is 1/2-3/4 cup of this Chile (note: taste as you add, there is a fine line between amazing and AGH!) I also added 3 TBS of cornstarch to an extra cup of cold chicken broth (instead of the veggie broth), then added it after I tossed in the tomatoes. The consistency was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have struggled for a long time to find a good, authentic New Mexico style green chile recipe so was excited about this! I actually made this in my crockpot and used about 2 pounds of boneless pork loin. However, be careful because this came out HOT. I love spicy things and can really stand the heat, but this was a struggle even for me to eat--had to load it with sour cream and tortillas to make it edible. If you're using canned green chiles (which, truly, would be a shame!) I think you can get away with putting more in, but if you're using 2 pounds of real roasted chiles, be careful. Perhaps the recipe means to be understood as 2 lbs. of chiles (weight before roasting?) Try to visualize this as what it would translate into for cups instead once roasted or you might be surprised by the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I added Pablanos to add a little more flavor and now we cook this at least twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
deliciously delicious! tried it for the first time with clients, gutsy, I know... turned out perfect! did use chicken, only becase we were having pulled pork sliders on the appetizer buffet... will use pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States