Roasted Green Beans with Almond Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
it made everything too mushy and the recipe called for too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These were delicious! Next time the brittle should be crushed up more for my taste so I would chop the nuts finer. It was hard to get a piece of brittle and a green bean at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Made as a side to our Christmas Prime Rib, simply delicious, the almond brittle was easy to make and added a sweet/salty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This recipe is OUTSTANDING! My entire famliy loved it. A definite new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These are delicious and easy to make and really gives green beans a new and yummy twist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Good. I was a bit surprised bf didn't complain about the almond brittle in with the beans, but he ate it all up. My sugar and water mixture never turned a golden color, but it did boil and turn to candy, so I guess that works well enough. Roasting the green beans is easy enough and I like how it turned out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Great, easy variation for green beans! I only used 1/4 cup water to make the brittle. I love roasted green beans, but have also used this brittle with cooked frozen petite whole green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I just happened to have alot of fresh green beans that I wanted to cook when I came upon this tasty recipe. I broke up the brittle while it was still warm, which made it easier to seperate but as it cooled its was harder to brake up, next time I'll just chop it into smaller pieces and save my hands. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Wow, I've been missing out all these years--roasting green beans is definitely the way to go! After reading the reviews, I decided to omit the brittle, but I still wanted the flavor, so after the beans were roasted, I tossed them with agave, then added the nuts (which I toasted in a dry skillet while the beans were roasting). I'm sure pure maple syrup would work as well. I used both almonds and pecans. The overall salty-sweet nutty flavor was just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I LOVED the flavor combination of the beans and the salty sweet almonds, but I seemed to have too much area that was brittle but no nuts and that was too hard to eat with the beans. Want to figure out a way to get that same flavor and the crunch of the nuts without the hardness of the brittle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States