Roasted Grapes and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very strange flavor, and I ordinarily like a mix of sweet & spicy. Also, 15-20 minutes did not cook the carrots through. They were still very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
the grapes, olive oil, cumin, onion carrot is lovely. authenticity needs much more spices, however as this is dull compared to 'Indian' or desi food. It's a terrific starter recipe. I needed to cook mine at least 40 minutes for carrot 'slices' to be somewhat soft. would definitely add potato to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Made this tonight and was not impressed. Followed the recipe to the T but the side dish just tasted like warm grapes and carrots even though I added additional spices to try and overcome this. I just don't see how this is in any way Indian cuisine. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Really good! dont skimp on the spices...i also boiled the carrots until tender before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this with green grapes instead of red, shallots instead of red onions, and regular carrots instead of baby carrots. Didn't really like it, but I realize the original recipe is quite different so I'll give it a 3 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a great idea, roasted carrots and grapes with cumin, but like everyone else says, the instructions aren't great. I sliced regular carrots and boiled them for about 8 minutes before roasting them with everything else for 10 minutes. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I really wanted to like this but sadly it just didnt taste good to me. I like onions, i really like carrots, and I love graps, but the combination of the three just didnt work for me. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent! Was a little nervous about the combination, but so surprised at how good it was. I will definitely be making this one again. Didn't have red onion so I used yellow and it added a nice color contract. My 5 year old even loved it. I steamed the carrots for 8 minutes ( baby ones cut in 3rds) then cooked at 45 for 20 mins but the carrots were still undercooked and the grapes over cooked. I will steam more next time and cook less with the grapes. Wonderful, easy, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wow! grapes tasted compltely different, I had to cook it bit longer thou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I definitely agree with the other reviewers that the carrots need to be pre-cooked slightly before baking. This simple recipe was nice, but needs a little something so I recommend adding a Tbsp or two of Orange Juice to the olive oil when you coat everything. This really makes the flavors pop! Also, try sprinkling it with a little sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, plus a bit of fresh parsley if you have it on hand. It just adds that extra bit of "wow" to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States