Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This recipe is okay. The best recipe is to cut the pointy end of the bulb of garlic so that the tops of the cloves are exposed. Sprinkle with fresh ground black pepper and drizzle 1 teaspoon of olive oil. Let the oil soak in until the oven is pre-heated to 350 degrees. Using your finger, spread the oil around the exposed bulbs and the upper part of the skin. On a foil-lined baking sheet, turn the cloves CUT SIDE DOWN and bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven, let cool for 20 or 30 minutes, then serve with crusty bread, goat cheese (or some other good cheese) and kalamata olives. The presentation is beautiful since the cloves of garlic are perfectly carmelized and haven't burned from being face down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Roasted garlic is sooo good, I changed a few things with mine and it was excellent. I cut off the pointy tops and drizzled olive oil over the exposed garlic and added freshly ground cracked pepper. Then I placed them on a piece of foil and folded it around the garlic, making a "foil tent" so that the garlic is completely enclosed. I put them in a 350 degree oven for about an hour or until soft to the touch. I served mine with thinly sliced crusty french bread and goat cheese. (spread the garlic on the bread and then some goat cheese) ~ you and your guests will NOT be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
436 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Changes: * Cut off tops of cloves * Added black pepper and garlic salt * Added lots of olive oil, rolled cloves around in it * Baked in muffin tins cut side down at 350 for 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I, of course, use this on breads but I also like to keep a little container of it in my fridge to chop up & add to recipes. The roasted garlic adds a much more subtle, sweet flavor than just minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
DKBECK - Cut off the top, NOT the root end. Cut just enough to expose the individual cloves. Pour on some olive oil, loosely cover with foil OR just sit the bulbs on some foil. Shiny side IN. Shiny side out reflects the heat. If the cloves are not soft and squishy, put them back in and roast longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I love this recipe. I actually do this a lot! I brush some oil on the exposed cut garlic and use kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper. I do put it on top of a crumbled cup of foil to make sure any excess oil or stuff doesn't fall out. I normally roast this on 400 degrees when I am making chicken for about 30-45 minutes. When they are squishy to the touch...I SQUISH them out in a container and keep them separate and just add them to whatever I want. This last time I used a whole bulb and added it to 1/4 cup of a butter substitute and added a little salt put it on the steaks, the bread, and some mushrooms and onions. It was fantastic! :) (I put the butter in a zip lock bag, pushed it to the bottom and froze it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I'm a little confused on the directions...are you supposed to cut the bottoms off like the photo shows or leave them whole? I don't see specific instructions in the recipe. I made them with the bottoms cut off and the exposed garlic was hard, despite the oil and covering with foil. Anyway, I liked the flavor, but I'm just a little befuddled if I did it right. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
It came out beautifully! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Make lots ahead of time and then store covered in olive oil for easy use. You can also use the olive oil for cooking and salads. Use equal parts garlic olive oil and white balsamic vinager, Mrs. Dash original seasoning, salt and pepper. Makes a lite flavorful dressing that's heart healthy that tastes great and you'll think you died and went to heaven. It'll become one of your favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
One of my favorite items to serve at dinner parties. I usually cut off the tip (as others here have suggested) and use a cupcake sheet instead of a flat baking sheet. The cupcake holes are just the right size for garlic, and help keep it soaked in olive oil while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States