Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
*****PLEASE DON'T SHORTCUT AND USE THE MICROWAVE!**** There is a possibility that the oil will ignite the garlic and paper towels and catch your microwave on fire. It's not common, but it DOES happen! I micro'd garlic successfully a few times, but the last time it literally exploded into flames, ruined my microwave, and filled my house with that awful burnt-garlic smell for WEEKS. Although I haven't tried this particular recipe before, I've used others like it. To be fair, I'm still rating 5 stars to avoid downgrading the rating - because roasted garlic is *awesome*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The recipe as written really should only get three or four stars for being to poorly explained. Just cut off the pointy part of the garlic, drizzle with olive oil (and pepper, if you like pepper), wrap loosely in foil (keeping the cut side UP) and bake at 350 degrees for 45 min. Peel back the foil to expose the tops of the garlic and bake another 15 minutes or so. Lots of ways to use roasted garlic, but my favorite way is to add it to my potatoes while I'm whipping them. I always get rave reviews for my whipped potatoes, and roasted garlic (along with some chives) is my secret ingredient. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
this is a good start to the recipe, but it needs adjustments. i agree with other reviews on a few things. first, chopping the top of the head of garlic off so each clove is exposed (to let the olive oil & any other spices seep in) is a good idea. i usually season mine with some light pepper after drizzling the olive oil on it. also, this could be cooked two different ways. using a terra cotta garlic baking dish, bake it covered for 45 minutes, then remove the cover and let bake an additional 15 minutes so the garlic is tender. if using tinfoil on a baking sheet, wrap the garlic up in the foil and bake 45 minutes, then uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes to tender. i find this works better and enhances the flavor and tenderness. it is wonderful served with brie cheese on crackers or slices of a french baguette! great appetizer for any occasion... just have some mints on hand after, lol. (and on a side note- 400 can be too much heat depending on your oven. i can get away with 350-375 usually. sometimes 400 will blacken it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Wonderful!! I love stirring it into ricotta cheese when making lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
One of my favorite items to serve at dinner parties. I usually cut off the tip (as others here have suggested) and use a cupcake sheet instead of a flat baking sheet. The cupcake holes are just the right size for garlic, and help keep it soaked in olive oil while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I cut off the top third, drizzled the olice oil, and added some freshly ground pepper and salt. I did it in my toaster oven, for 50 minutes at 400 degrees. The house smelled amazing! (and I didn't have to heat up the whole kitchen). I put the leftover head in a ziplock and microwaved it 2 days later, to add to some butter for crab! Excellent, and so cheap to do.... local restaurants make such a deal when they give you a roasted head of garlic with bread for dinner....who knew it was this simple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I cut off the sharp end of the garlic bulb and drizzled olive oil and cracked black pepper over each bulb. I placed it cut side down in muffin pan and it Carmelites and stuck to my pan. Next time I'm going to wrap them in individual aluminum ball. Now I gotta soak and scrub my pan. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good. Very stinky breath, but very good!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Don't forget roasted garlic is good in home made vinegar & oil type salad dressings. Mixed in hummus or probably 1000 other dishes. It's mild when roasted & you can use the whole head easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
You MUST like garlic a lot for this one...which I do! This turned out perfect. Easy to spread onto crusty Italian bread. Pairs lovely with red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States