Roasted Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Cut off tops, olive oil, salt & pepper, cut side down, 350 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Amazing! I use the carmelized garlic as a spread on anything and sometimes mixed with mayo to make a garlic aioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Easy and delicious. Ended up cooking it a little longer than 30 minutes, maybe about 40 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I think they might of had to cook it longer bcz of the amount they cooked. I just cooked 1 head in a small stone crock and didn't do any thing except pour some olive oil over it. Baked it at 350 deg set my timer for 45 min and it was squishy & ready in 25 minutes. To get a more roasted taste I will leave it in another 10 min or until it has that crispy look on the edge of the clove. I don't think you should cut or open any of the cloves bcz of dryness that can occur. Next time I will add sprigs of fresh rosemary so that will roast in the olive oil too! Then have roasted garlic and roasted rosemary paste for bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I wish I had more than 2 cloves of garlic when I did this. It was so good I used one head just on garlic bread & stored the other for later. I used the tent method, cut the ends off & drizzled with olive oil. 400 degrees & about 50 minutes later & the garlic had a nice roasted golden color. Next time I'll make enough to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have made roasted garlic using this simple method many times. It can be roasted at any temperature from 300 to 400 F. Just adjust the time until it is soft and done. I buy 10 pounds of organically grown garlic from a local farmer every Fall and roast the whole batch. I then freeze it 6 buds in a bag. It lasts all winter and is great in soups, stew, garlic bread etc. So handy and more mellow-flavoured than raw garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Definitely cut the bottoms off of these to make squeezing out the garlic easy. This is so good and can be put on anything, from sandwiches to a steak! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I roasted 18 bulbs, let them cool then squeezed them out. I spread them on a cookie sheet so they can freeze separately and put them all in a freezer safe container so when I want some I can take out as many or few as I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe, but I rated it a three-star because I think it can be more flavorful and easier to make. Use larger heads of garlic and take off the tops to expose the cloves as another reviewer said. Cut some sheets of aluminum foil with generous overlap. Place them in muffin pans and place the garlic in the foil. Pour olive oil on top; be generous. Then sprinkle some kosher salt (or regular salt if you don't have kosher in the pantry). Also sprinkle some pepper on the garlic. Now pull in the sides of the foil and wrap the garlic. Place in the oven at 375 for about 35 minutes. Pull out of the oven and unwrap each bulb. I then use a very pointy knife and put it in each clove. If it goes through easily, it's done. Use the foil to lift out of the muffin pan to set aside and put the bulbs that are NOT done back in the oven, rewrapped, a few more minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes and have fun squeezing the bulbs out of skins. Great not only for spreading on bread, but also for putting in dishes at the end of cooking for the garlic touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tn_mama
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this by cutting the tops off the garlic heads and roasted them slathered in olive oil with the cut side down on a foil lined cookie sheet. Once roasted, I mixed with fresh creamery butter and it was so good on thin toasted French bread slices. If you aren't planning on mixing it with something else, add a bit of salt and pepper. A hit and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States