Roasted Garlic and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Made it today and turned out great! I don't have a processor so I just diced the eggplant after roasting. Also added sliced baby red potatoes. Filling and has nice sweet garlic flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellent soup. I used a potato instead of the eggplant and added 1/2 tsp. oregano. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
YUM! YUM!! YUMMY!!! I made this on a whim, looking for a creative way to prepare eggplant and this is it! My husband and I will probably eat the whole pot before tomorrow's lunch! I didn't make any changes - used all fresh veggies in my new food processor and it is delicious! Thanks for posting such a healthy alternative to "fried eggplant"! KUDOS!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This soup was hearty and so flavorful. The only thing I did different was added Thyme and two shredded carrots. It's great with a hearty grain bread to dip in it. Try this soup, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this as written, except for omitting Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!!! Very filling, and a nice warming soup for a cold day. I think next time I will increase the cayenne, as I couldn't tell there was any. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This soup is wonderful I can't wait to try it tomorrow. I used two Knorr Tom Yam bouillon cubes that I bought when I was in Singapore instead of the cayenne pepper. I also add some fresh rosemary to the batch. I left out the Worcestershire sauce because I'm not fond of it. Just a wonderful delicious soup and a great way to use eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I was debating between rating 4 or 5 stars, because I modified the recipe a bit, but I think what's listed here is a great base to which you can add your preference of additional spices/ingredients. First of all, I had so much eggplant from the garden (and no food scale) that I guesstimated doubling the batch would be best. I only used 1 cup of tomato puree (in the double batch) because that's all I had. I took the recommendations from others and added a lot more cayenne (maybe 2-3x) as well as curry and some thyme. I used light cream and I doubt there's a taste difference from the full - great consistency. Turned out wonderful. Definitely recommend. Don't be afraid to add your favorite spices/extra ingredients, though I'm sure it's great by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I love love love this soup so much that I was actually sad when there were no more leftovers! I have shared this recipe with many of my friends and they have all commented to me about how much they love it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
It looks pretty gross but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This soup is epic! I made it vegetarian with vegetable broth and vegan Worcestershire sauce substitutions. I also increased the cayenne to 1/8 tsp., which was fine but may not have been necessary. My husband normally loathes eggplant, but he LIKED this soup. I'd list this one among my top 5 favorite soups of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States