Roasted Garlic and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Added more cayenne for more kick, since other reviewers said the amount called for was almost unnoticeable. We enjoyed it with a nice whole grain and seed crusty bread. Since we don't normally have half and half on hand, I just used roughly half heavy cream and half milk. Also, I used an immersion (stick) blender right in the pot, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I didn't make it exactly like the recipe. Instead of half and half I used 1/4 cup buttermilk and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream. I used hunts tomato sauce for the tomato puree. I also added some red pepper flakes as well as ancho chili powder to add a bit of kick. I cooked some spinach in there as well as was recommended by another down below because I too had some spinach in the fridge that needed used. This was a fantastic base for a recipe and you can really play with the ingredients to make it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very good! I followed the recipe exactly since this was my first try. I only have one suggestion. Cook the eggplant twice as long and at 325-350 degrees. My onions were starting to burn before I felt the eggplant was soft enough. I finally fished them & the garlic out of the pan and let the eggplant finish. All-in-all my husband and I really liked it. Thanks for sharing this! Eggplant soup was a new one to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This soup is epic! I made it vegetarian with vegetable broth and vegan Worcestershire sauce substitutions. I also increased the cayenne to 1/8 tsp., which was fine but may not have been necessary. My husband normally loathes eggplant, but he LIKED this soup. I'd list this one among my top 5 favorite soups of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
It looks pretty gross but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I love love love this soup so much that I was actually sad when there were no more leftovers! I have shared this recipe with many of my friends and they have all commented to me about how much they love it. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I was debating between rating 4 or 5 stars, because I modified the recipe a bit, but I think what's listed here is a great base to which you can add your preference of additional spices/ingredients. First of all, I had so much eggplant from the garden (and no food scale) that I guesstimated doubling the batch would be best. I only used 1 cup of tomato puree (in the double batch) because that's all I had. I took the recommendations from others and added a lot more cayenne (maybe 2-3x) as well as curry and some thyme. I used light cream and I doubt there's a taste difference from the full - great consistency. Turned out wonderful. Definitely recommend. Don't be afraid to add your favorite spices/extra ingredients, though I'm sure it's great by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This soup is wonderful I can't wait to try it tomorrow. I used two Knorr Tom Yam bouillon cubes that I bought when I was in Singapore instead of the cayenne pepper. I also add some fresh rosemary to the batch. I left out the Worcestershire sauce because I'm not fond of it. Just a wonderful delicious soup and a great way to use eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Super yummy! I was nervous about all the eggplant seeds and spent a lot of time separating the seeds from the eggplant, but in the end it didn't matter because the food processor pulverized the whole thing. I used the milk/cornstarch trick - the consistency was very nice. I added some spinach, too, just because I had it on hand and didn't want it to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
EXTREMELY delicious. Instead of half-and-half, I used organic nonfat milk and 1 egg. Added more cayenne pepper as well. I thought it tasted better when I cooled it down then reheated it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States