Roasted Garlic and Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I'm giving this 4 starts as written. It's very easy to make and is very tasty, but I thought it was missing something. I tried making it again and added more cayenne pepper and lots of hot curry. Once I added the the curry it was more the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This soup was hearty and so flavorful. The only thing I did different was added Thyme and two shredded carrots. It's great with a hearty grain bread to dip in it. Try this soup, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Made it today and turned out great! I don't have a processor so I just diced the eggplant after roasting. Also added sliced baby red potatoes. Filling and has nice sweet garlic flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Super yummy! I was nervous about all the eggplant seeds and spent a lot of time separating the seeds from the eggplant, but in the end it didn't matter because the food processor pulverized the whole thing. I used the milk/cornstarch trick - the consistency was very nice. I added some spinach, too, just because I had it on hand and didn't want it to go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
EXTREMELY delicious. Instead of half-and-half, I used organic nonfat milk and 1 egg. Added more cayenne pepper as well. I thought it tasted better when I cooled it down then reheated it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made this as written, except for omitting Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!!! Very filling, and a nice warming soup for a cold day. I think next time I will increase the cayenne, as I couldn't tell there was any. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This soup is epic! I made it vegetarian with vegetable broth and vegan Worcestershire sauce substitutions. I also increased the cayenne to 1/8 tsp., which was fine but may not have been necessary. My husband normally loathes eggplant, but he LIKED this soup. I'd list this one among my top 5 favorite soups of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
It looks pretty gross but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Added more cayenne for more kick, since other reviewers said the amount called for was almost unnoticeable. We enjoyed it with a nice whole grain and seed crusty bread. Since we don't normally have half and half on hand, I just used roughly half heavy cream and half milk. Also, I used an immersion (stick) blender right in the pot, which worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very good! I followed the recipe exactly since this was my first try. I only have one suggestion. Cook the eggplant twice as long and at 325-350 degrees. My onions were starting to burn before I felt the eggplant was soft enough. I finally fished them & the garlic out of the pan and let the eggplant finish. All-in-all my husband and I really liked it. Thanks for sharing this! Eggplant soup was a new one to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States